We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gorgeous little place.”
Review of Tealicious Tearoom

Tealicious Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 304 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Tealicious Tearoom offers a relaxing atmosphere in which to enjoy the 17 individual blends of loose leaf tea served in a collection of unique fine bone china tea cups. Fresh homemade cakes, scones and sandwiches made to order, makes a visit to Tealicious Tearoom a truly unforgettable experience. Opening times: Tue - Sat 10am til 4pm Sun - 12 noon til 4pm Mon - Closed
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a gorgeous little place.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

we popped in while out shopping & had a thoroughly nice time!! the homemade scones where amazing with a lovely cup of fresh hot tea! love the little touches of the wallpaper, the teapot shaped tea strainers.
Alison, the owner, made us feel very welcome as she did with everyone.
definately worth a visit!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victoria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    45
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic tearoom!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Lovely food, great tea, happy staff - overall fantastic experience! Visited few times already and tried different things on the menu ... soup, sandwiches, scones and cakes - always fresh and taste yummy. Can't wait to come back again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anerdeenshire
Level Contributor
254 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Small and quaint tea-room”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very disappointed, having read previous reviews was expecting something special. Small and cramped. Unaware of specials, which our waitress did not point out to us. Food okay but nothing special - much better (and cheaper) available close by. Do have a wide range of speciality teas. Staff very friendly

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dale160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“okay for a sarnie”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

we went here thinking a nice lunch but it is what it is a tea room serving tea and cakes very good for thst but thats it cake and a sandwich not much else. Polite and nice staff will go again for afternoon tea.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURHAM
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice but service??”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We popped in for a little light lunch after reading the reviews on here the selection of tea was good and the cakes were nice, but my sandwich was a little dry which was dissapointing and we found the service slow and lethargic

  • Visited January 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GERALDINE101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin H, Owner at Tealicious Tearoom, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are really sorry and disappointed that your visit to Tealicious was not a good experience. We strive to offer all of our customers a friendly and efficient service but this was obviously not the case for yourself. We will now take the time to look at how this can be improved to ensure all of our customers receive top class service. I am not sure what sandwich you had but again we are very sorry it was not to your satisfaction. We do hope you will visit us again so we can rectify this situation.
Kind Regards
Alison & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tealicious Tearoom also viewed

 
Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Tealicious Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing