We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first class tearoom” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tealicious Tearoom

Tealicious Tearoom
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Tealicious Tearoom offers a relaxing atmosphere in which to enjoy the 17 individual blends of loose leaf tea served in a collection of unique fine bone china tea cups. Fresh homemade cakes, scones and sandwiches made to order, makes a visit to Tealicious Tearoom a truly unforgettable experience. Opening times: Tue - Sat 10am til 4pm Sun - 12 noon til 4pm Mon - Closed
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“first class tearoom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

tealicious tearoom is an excellent choice for hot drinks.superb cakes and sandwiches,freindly staff.and at a reasonable cost,highly recomended,yummy

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank penshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    42
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely tearoom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Although I live near and shop in Durham this new tearoom in the town centre is a bit off my normal beat and I discovered it whilst browsing on TripAdvisor. I was delighted I did, it lived up to the reviews.

The owner and staff are enthusiastic and friendly. There are 17 teas, all specially blended and served in traditional China together with tea strainer. I had the house afternoon blend and it was went down a treat. The home made Victoria sponge was superb.

The atmosphere was lively and pleasant. There was no piped music.

I definitely intend to return when next in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BassettHound33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best cafe in County Durham!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

When we found this little tea room, the first thing that struck me was the inviting decor and quirky name. The tea room was very clean inside with beautiful accents such as vintage tea cups etc. They have so many types of tea, blended especially for them, but I like coffee so ordered a strong coffee and it arrived in a cafetiere and was stunning quality. Myself, my parents and my three year old son visited. Thoughful little touches were abundant, and we all had cakes. I order a lemon cheesecake and it was the best I've ever had. I am actually having withdrawal symptoms! :-)
We will certainly be making a regular trip here, even though we live in Darlington! It's worth the drive through in itself! Its in a very convenient location also.
Oh, and nice clean spacious loos!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tealicious Tearoom, Durham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

A real gem. Alison, the owner's passion shines through. There is such attention to detail. A choice of seventeen uniquely blended teas served from a lovely teapot and in pretty china teacups was such a joy to find. As an avid tea drinker this delightful tea room was such a memorable experience. The homemade cakes all looked gorgeous and it was difficult to choose. On our second visit we tried the soup and sandwiches, equally mouth watering.The staff are very welcoming and make sure you really enjoy your visit. If you enjoy loose leaf tea, served in the traditional way with wholesome scrummy homemade cake, then Tealicious is a must!

Alison and Tony

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely little tea room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

A small traditional tea room serving some 17 tea varieties of tea and very good coffee. The tea room is quite new and the staff are very friendly. A very good selection of cakes and scones was available this made choosing difficult as they all looked great. As I am not a tea drinker I chose a lovely strong coffee and scone whilst my wife had Durham Miner's tea and a scone. All were delicious!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tealicious Tearoom also viewed

 
Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Tealicious Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing