We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Durham University Botanic Garden
Save
Review Highlights
Good choice in friendly cafe

The coffee choice was a bit limited but the staff were happy to tweak settings for you. The... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
dunholme
,
Durham
So lucky to have this place

We are locals so a yearly ticket is an obvious thing to pay for. We have had some lovely days in... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
flowerlady64
,
Durham, United Kingdom
Read all 352 reviews
  
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
164
145
26
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
145
26
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird hide tropical plants glass house japanese garden cactus house creepy crawlies interesting sculptures coffee shop park and ride well worth a visit sunny day plenty of seats nice cafe few hours pleasant walk couple of hours lovely place to visit
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

The coffee choice was a bit limited but the staff were happy to tweak settings for you. The sandwiches and toasties were good. The setting is restful, with a view of the botanic gardens and there are usually pictures by local artists on the wall, available for purchase.

Thank dunholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventDurham, Guest Relations Manager at Durham University Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We have local artists' work on the walls of the cafe, which changes on a monthly basis. Always something new to see, be it paintings, photography or other artwork. The staff are happy to accommodate individual requests, so please do ask them if you want something a little different.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are locals so a yearly ticket is an obvious thing to pay for. We have had some lovely days in the gardens this year. The tubs of tulips are a real delight - such a range of colours. Last Monday we took a camera and photographed the autumn colours.

We always have something to eat at the cafe - the crannachan cake was really nice and they always have good soup. The sandwiches are freshly made too.

My only disappointment is the alpine garden. It always seems so colourless and uncared for. Perhaps I have visited at the wrong time or it's a work in progress but this is an area I would like to see made as nice as the rest of this garden of peace and calm in the building site that is Durham.

Looking forward to having more nice days out. Thanks to everyone for their hard work.

Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventDurham, Guest Relations Manager at Durham University Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your comments and great to hear you enjoy your visits.

I spoke to the Head Gardener about the Alpine Garden to get a little more information, and he said that Alpine plants have a short window, they are adapted to remain dormant for long periods of time and then quickly flower as snow recedes and temperatures rise. Our Alpine Garden is designed to demonstrate this. The plants are growing in the harsh rocky conditions that you would find at high altitudes above the tree line in the Alps. They are typically low and “cushion” shaped so they shelter from the wind and can stand long periods under snow. Their flowering period in brief but amazing, often the leaves are completely covered by the flowers. I hope this helps explain the disappointing appearance when you visited.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Delicious lunch, outside; loved the Friendship Garden, flowers in walking boots and the sculptures. Brilliant staff in the cafe and lots of lovely things in the shop.
Very peaceful and calming and the trees looked beautiful.

Thank Tartantitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventDurham, Guest Relations Manager at Durham University Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It is a fantastic time of year for the colours of leaves on the trees and still some pretty flowers around. So glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed a great couple of hours wandering around. However without sounding like a ‘kill-joy’ it was slightly disturbed by groups of students- who’d of thought!

Thank olibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventDurham, Guest Relations Manager at Durham University Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It is the time of year when we have new students joining the University and they are exploring the area and can be a little over-excited at times. I am sorry they disturbed the peace and quiet, and hope this will not stop you visiting us on another occasion as we would love to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A really relaxing stroll enjoying the lovely autumn colours. The glasshouses are well worth seeing too and there are good refreshment facilities when you are ready.

Thank MICK0950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventDurham, Guest Relations Manager at Durham University Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

The gardens are beautiful at the moment with all the autumnal leaves. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Cafe at the botanical garden was charming. Sitting was provided indoors as well as outside on the terrace. Food and drinks was very reasonably priced. All the cakes looked very tempting. Had a scone with tea. Scone was excellent provided with good quality clotted cream and jam.

Thank Prachi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventDurham, Guest Relations Manager at Durham University Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the cafe at the Botanic Garden, those cakes are certainly tempting .....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well worth a visit! I would recommend taking a walk through the beautiful woods just across the road before touring the gardens, then rounding it off with a meal in their excellent cafe.

Thank leonberger2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventDurham, Guest Relations Manager at Durham University Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

The woods are an added bonus to the gardens - most beautiful in Spring when full of bluebells. Glad you enjoyed the food in the cafe and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice to walk around and admire nature. Not too big but quite a lot to see. Love that it isn't too crowded and loud. Spent a good few hours here and will be returning once winter arrives.

Thank SafenaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventDurham, Guest Relations Manager at Durham University Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

The gardens alter all the time, so look very different as the seasons change. We do hope to welcome you back another time when you can see how different things can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

We really enjoyed our rather brief visit to the botanic garden. Didnt have enough time but we found the displays in the greenhouse area fascinating; cacti, orchids, fish, ferns - too much to name. My favorite was the mimosa pudica and carnivorous plants. Sadly no triffid!

Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventDurham, Guest Relations Manager at Durham University Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hopefully you can come back and spend a little more time with us and see the gardens in different seasons. If you are planning another trip, you might like to look at our Annual Season Tickets which are £15.00 for a year for an adult and you can visit as many times as you like.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

We spent a couple of hours here, it's a very interesting garden, not too big but there's plenty of interest. We especially enjoyed seeing the North American trees and indoor cacti. We also had lunch in the cafe which was very good, cooked to order, and we bought some nice gifts in the shop. A good way to spend a few hours relaxing and taking in the scenery.

Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventDurham, Guest Relations Manager at Durham University Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Garden. Please do be sure to come back in different seasons as the Botanic Garden does look quite different; in Spring, we also have our rare breed of sheep grazing in the parkland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews