We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended . . .”

Rivergreen Centre Cafe
Ranked #138 of 304 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Description: The cafe in the Rivergreen Centre at Aykley Heads is open to the general public and everyone is welcome. Teas, coffees and light meals are served on weekdays from 7:30am to 4:30pm. The cafe is closed at weekends. Visitors to the cafe by car need to use the intercom next to the entrance barrier to gain entry to the car park.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I work at the Rivergreen Centre so I'm lucky to have this cafe on my doorstep, so to speak! Consistently good food and service. While I haven't yet sampled the breakfasts, I have had various things from the menu for lunch and I never thought I'd ever say "delicious" and "salad" in the same sentence!! The chicken salad and the chicken caesar salads are absolutely delicious and very filling for, the bacon, brie and mango chutney baguettes are addictive and the cake selection is ideal for an afternoon pick me up! It also has the added bonus of being open to the public!! As the title of my review says, highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aunty_Nita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    6
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Coffee!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Great place to go for a coffee and bite to eat. The cafe is a nice, modern environment. The prices are reasonable as well considering there arent many other places to go in the area and the staff are always helpful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best bacon sarnie & Cappuccino around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I work within the Rivergreen Centre and the Cafe is a great addition to the building. A Friday treat of a bacon sarnie and a cappuccino has turned into a bi (sometimes tri!) week treat, they are too good to resist! The scrambled egg on toast is also highly recommended. Staff are friendly (including the reception girls!) and the cafe staff will always cater for what you'd like.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I work in one of the offices in The Rivergreen Centre and I am a regular visitor to the cafe. The breakfasts are always top quality and getting things cooked to you exact liking is never a problem...taking the service level above and beyond.....the toasted bacon sandwich is the greatest thing in the world to pick you up on a Friday morning!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr_GW84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“good honest food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

The café offers good food at reasonable prices. The staff are friendly, and the atmosphere pleasant. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rivergreen Centre Cafe also viewed

Langley Park, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Rivergreen Centre Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing