We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view”

Gala Theatre Durham
Ranked #11 of 57 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Doesnt matter where you sit in this theatre you will feel as though you are in the front row, great view from every seat.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SUEYCAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    82
    16
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“upstairs private function room”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

when to a private function in the upper rooms of the Theatre which is an insultingly ugly building on the riverside at Durham . This was built in the 60 when planning at the City Council allowed to lovely city of durham to be spoiled in an almost criminal way. The Function room like the building lacks atmosphere and the food we had was just bland

Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crook
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Doesn't even compare to Odeon!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Living locally we would love to be able to come here but the overall experience just isn't worth the money. You pay the same price for tickets as the likes if the amazing metro odeon cinema, yet get uncomfortable seats and a screen that im sure much if the population own a larger TV!!
Their food is extortionate and there are only 2 screens so tickets are awful to get. They often close at random times and stick a note on the door. Odeon @ metrocentre here we come!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Screen 1 - amazing. Screen 2 - awful”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Seeing as there are only 2 cinema screens, there isn't a wide choice of movies and they tend to sell out quickly.
Last week I went with my friends to see Skyfall however it was sold out, so we bought tickets for the next day and decided to see Madagascar 3 that day. Madagascar was in screen 2, which is small and cosy however a little too dark if you need a trip to the toilet.
Skyfall was in screen 1 which I prefer, as it is a larger room and is slightly lighter than screen 2. In screen 1, the staff are strict about people sitting in the seats allocated on the tickets however I think this was just because Skyfall was a sell-out film.

On the plus, the staff don't check your bags, so we were able to go to Tesco and buy a bottle of pop and 3 packs of sweets for £1 saving around £7 on food and drinks.

I clicked 'no' on the "is there a fee for this attraction" because the prices obviously vary for movies and screening times.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham city
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Comedy Store makes your sides split!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We are regulars of the Gala.
We do kids club for cinema on most Saturday's, only £4 for everyone.. bargain!
We regularly go to the comedy store, last Sunday of the month. It's a steal for £11, you see 3 comedians and the compare. " and half hours of adult fun. We have seen lots of the popular comedians including Sarah Millican, Lee Evans and many more. They say laughter makes you live longer...give it a go!
Finally, we saw Lenny Henry's Pop Music tour last week. He was hilarious, his 54 years on this planet have made him a great stand up! My sides ached with laughter!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gala Theatre Durham also viewed

 
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Gala Theatre Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing