We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines”
Review of Bowburn Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bowburn Hall
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Durham
2 reviews
“Valentines”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Great little Valentines night can be had at Bowburn, great service and a lovely conservatory at the back to chill before and after the night.. Been going for the past 5yrs but couldn't get booked for 2013 due to popular demand!! Nice and cheap also!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickyboyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    118
    76
    31
    23
See reviews for
136
124
11
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

well a big thank you to the staff at bowburn hall who made our stay special the food the accomadation and setting was fantastic .my wife pam made the 4 tear cake and the restraunt manager was ever so helpful in setting it out on the day big thank you for that .the rooms are clean and smart on the down side there is no lift if you are disabled ,this venue is ideal for weddings with safe grounds for the children to play in .the evening reseption was realy nice disco nicely set out tables and a hog roast well done laura and brian it was a magical day you were a princess
.

Room Tip: first floor are more accessable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clecks_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very Friendly and Helpful staff, nothing was too difficult. Everyones needs were catered for. The meals were exceptional.
Rooms were very clean and tidy and the beds were very comfortable. Some rooms were a bit on the small side if you needed to get a travel cot in.

We all had a hearty breakfast in the morning before checking out

Room Tip: If you need to put a travel cot in the room mention it before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefEng100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

As we live in Wales and my kids live in the North East we decided to book a party night with accomodation at the Bowburn, I arranged this with Nikki their fantastic receptionist and she couldn't have been more helpful. From initial enquiry to the actual night the booking went with without a single hitch.
The party night with the Tina Turner tribute was great, all of our party thoroughly enjoyed it, and danced their socks off.
Food was Christmas Fayre and well above average all served quickly and piping hot which can be difficult for a large crowd, we were offered extra veg and desserts and all enjoyed it and needed the dancing to burn it off.
We were allocated rooms on the first floor and my son was lucky enough to have one that has just been updated, what a stunning revamp my son and his fiancee were well impressed.
Overall another great visit to the Bowburn and once again they gave excellent service and great food. Nikki! love the new hairdo, and we all thank you for your attention to detail and great service you and the Bowburn team have made our Christmas special. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColAng520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

17 very good friends had our xmas lunch here on 14th december food good and hot ,good service nice atmosphere.this is a good place to meet up with friends from all over the durham region as it
so easy to travel too from all areas .wine reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenneth458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

As far as Xmas meals go this wasn't bad.the starter of mushrooms in a peppercorn sauce was really good.The main courses were ok , nothing spectacular but ok , The same can be said about the deserts.A big plus was the service,plenty of young helpers , alright they weren't all that professional but they were pleasant and willing.There was never a que at the bar but this could be because of the sky high prices. The Tina turner show which was on after the meal was pretty good, she looked and on the whole sounded like Miss Turner although I felt that she relied a little too much on audience participation for her laughs, Good all the same. The big turn off was the disco. A stand in apparently , but he really didn't have a clue what was expected of him and it showed in his choice of music and his lack of patter. Overall I would give the evening 6 out of 10 but that was only because of the extra effort we put in to compensate for the hapless DJ.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank denis f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Went here for our Xmas do. £25 per head and received a disgraceful attempt at Xmas dinner. Bread roll and butter was fine. 1slice of preformed turkey with tasteless sausage and stuffing. Not enough potatoes and veg to go around I had one and gravy. Ask for more they said no. Xmas pud dessert you wouldn't feed to a dog and asked for a bowl of ice cream instead which was horrid. Dance after which was fun but only because our party are fab to be with. What a waste of hard earned money and as its the 7th visit and poorest yet most expensive so far I guarantee I would not return. Poor quality food and I truly mean this but school dinners were better.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poodlelady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
3.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,079 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
429 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowburn Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowburn Hall

Property: Bowburn Hall
Address: Bowburn, Durham DH6 5NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bowburn Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bowburn Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowburn Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing