We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Great Value for Money”
Review of Bowburn Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bowburn Hall
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Location and Great Value for Money”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for one night in September as part of my visit to Durham. The hotel is only a 10 minute drive from Durham City Centre.
The room I stayed in was a very good size, very clean and had all the amenities - flat screen TV, ample supplies of tea and coffee, comfy and big bed, desk and a fairly sizable wardrobe.
The bathroom was a fairly good size too, very clean and well stocked.
The breakfast was in the lovely dining / conservatory area and I found the staff very friendly and helpful.
For £45 per night with breakfast I thought it was great value. Perfect place to stay in if you are visiting Durham either on your own or with family or just driving through that part of the UK.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RumyAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    116
    75
    30
    23
See reviews for
135
121
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were checked in by a Craig very helpful, we had only booked for one night but decided to stay another this was not a problem, room was clean lovely large bathroom nice fluffy towels, flat screen TV ample tea,coffee etc we had a meal in hotel on first night excellent value for money.
Breakfast served in conservatory nice room good food, yes it is in the middle of an housing estate but this did not bothher us at all, only a short drive to Durham City Centre and many more plaves of Interest. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandadjgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just 4 miles from Durham a hotel in a spot near the A1, most people wouldn't think of using this other than for weddings or business, but if you are a parent bringing a student to Uni or like us wanted a stop over on the way North, give this place a try.
£45 for b&b in a nice room with good service. Don't expect the Ritz, and the double rooms are average size, but well appointed and clean.
All in all for the money well worth a visit

Room Tip: Ask for a twin to the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilbertSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We only stayed one night en-route to Scotland. The room was large and clean, with a big bathroom and the food in the restaurant was lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was great. The settting was lovely, and although it's in the middle of a built-up area felt like it was actually in the middle of the countryside as the grounds around it are quite large. We were more than satisfied and would certainly go back if in the Durham area again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had our wedding here in June 2012 and the hotel was excellent. All of the staff were very professional and the quality of food for the wedding breakfast and evening buffet was outstanding. The service during our meal was very efficient without us feeling rushed.

The layout of the hotel is great and having the conservatory for a drinks reception is really useful. We booked out all the rooms for our guests and the venue felt very intimate and like our own little place.

Craig (manager) and Craig (assistant manager) were very organised in the lead up to the day, ensured that everything went to plan and couldn’t do enough to help. They were also more than willing to accommodate small changes to our timetable to enable photographs to be taken outside during a break from the showers.

This is an exceptional venue in the north east for a wedding and definitely a hidden gem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Seabury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding. Staff were so efficient, great attention to detail and nothing was too much trouble. The girl with the purple hair deserves a special mention for her hard work and friendliness. Hotel rooms were clean and well serviced and the food was generous, hearty and well-cooked, specialising in local produce. Good value for a meal or weekend with great offers and deals available. The wedding was very, very well done. Thank you Bowburn for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Avoid room 26 - smaller than most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfie'smum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I was due to stay here next month but staff phoned me to say this was no longer possible. I booked this a few months ago.

Now I can't get into nearby hotels as they are booked up, or prices are higher for the shorter notice.

Grrrr!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
3.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
7.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,048 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowburn Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowburn Hall

Property: Bowburn Hall
Address: Bowburn, Durham DH6 5NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bowburn Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bowburn Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowburn Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing