We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Bowburn Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bowburn Hall
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Our only regret here is that we didn't get to try the restaurant as we were meeting up with friends nearby. The menu had lots of fish and meat dishes that suggested it would not be standard pub food, and great emphasis was placed on the local origins of the ingredients, including local cheeses. For £67, the room - although smaller - was much better equipped than the £100 room of the previous night's hotel and spotlessly clean. Mention of it being surrounded by a housing estate is immaterial; the area is quiet and you might even get a view across to Durham in the distance. The staff clearly knew their jobs and seemed genuinely interested in being of service to the guests. The brightness of the breakfast room makes it a pleasant experience and the food just right in a traditional way. We will certainly stay again when visiting the area. The single jarring note is that the hefty humps on the access road mean we cannot bring our soft top without risking losing the exhaust.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceciliami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for Bowburn Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 419 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

We needed a pleasant, restful location for one night, while working in Durham for 2 days. The price was so good we feared a catch!
From the moment we parked in the spacious car park to the moment we left Everything was good. Well-trained staff, attractive room, well-equipped bathroom, windows that opened, views and sounds of a garden with birds, satisfactory food, excellent continental breakfast - I can certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife attended a wedding at this hotel and stayed the night. The thing that struck me was how hard the staff worked and yet always had a smile for the guets. Hard work included staffing the bar until 4 am and the same staff were serving the guests with pints at breakfast ... which was excellent.

We paid £75 for double room with breakfast ... which was clean and tidy if a bit small.

The major disappointment was the tv in room was supposed to have Sky Sports (England vs Norway + Carl Froch fight) but not available and staff were too busy to help.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank St_Geordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

When I saw that Bowburn was offering B&B for £39 I eagerly persuaded my Wife to book there... and she was not disappointed... food (breakfast) was excellent rooms were comfy... and made a nights business stay a complete pleasure!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulnpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Food in the restaurant is always lovely. But I regularly use it for Bar Meals. Reasonably priced, but made fresh and piping hot on delivery. Food always excellent and Craig Manager and Chris Chef cant do enough for you. Very nice friendly family atmosphere, definitely better than its sister hotel Ramside!
I have attended weddings, christenings, Sunday lunches, themed evenings, birthday parties and will continue to be a regular as long as the standard remains! Well done, there are not many places I can say that about, and I eat out a lot!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The location is a bit strange, housing estates have grown up around it, but close to A1 & Durham. I have been here several times to eat previously, but never stayed before. It offers excellent value for money, the atmosphere is good & it is clearly well frequented by the locals for food.Yes as one other reviewer said it is a bit dated & tired, but the room was clean, bed very comfortable, staff excellent, food is basic, but giant portions & of a good standard. Breakfast on day 1 was excellent, on day 2 disappointing. Overall, both the colleague that I was travelling with & myself would stay there again when in the North East. It is a pleasant change from the normal souless business hotels. Only one small gripe about the otherwise friendly & helpful service - i told them I had no hairdryer in the room - I would have expected that to be checked & corrected, rather than being told I could get a spare from reception!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We went for a meal only - we didn't stay at the hotel. The food was OK - "pub grub" rather than restaurant standard. The chips (which seemed to accompany most meals) were a little greasy and appeared to be the standard "frozen" type, rather than the thick, handcut ones. The vegetables were mostly peas... The staff were very friendly and the surroundings fine. Not a bad meal, just not special in any way....

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Vintage1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
3.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,119 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
436 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowburn Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowburn Hall

Address: Bowburn, Durham DH6 5NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: $64 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bowburn Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bowburn Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowburn Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing