We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveler rating
127
129
48
15
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
129
48
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings lodgecity centretrain stationshower cubiclesmall hotelbreakfast includedfull englishfamily roomquiet locationmin walksingle roomsunday lunchlovely hotelstayed one nightbed was comfortablethree nightstwo night stay
Filter
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 325 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Room 13 is situated over the kitchen, which means that the freezers and fridges constantly heat it from below. The radiator was turned off in our room, so we had to open the window to adjust the temperature and at night we were forced to sleep under just a sheet, which I`ve never done before in the UK in October! The bus garage next door started backing vehicles at 5.30 am and the staff came in at 6.00 am and turned on the industrial kitchen fans beneath our window . The staff`s reaction was that we were the first to ever complain!
No recompense was offered, despite several tries.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillgrawlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Returning once more from Scotland we stayed in one of our favourite cities, Durham. We were very pleased with this hotel for several reasons, mainly related to our car. Firstly parking was provide free of charge and in a secure environment which in the past has been an issue in Durham. It was such a relief not to have to fill in any parking permits or feed the meters which was quite expensive last time. Secondly, as we arrived quite late we were relieved to find the restaurant still open and we were pleased with the quality of the food. The bathrooms were bright and airy and the staff were very friendly. In our opinion the hotel was central enough to enjoy the many sights in the city but without the noise. It also made a change to have free wifi instead of being charged through the teeth in the bigger brand hotels that we sometimes stay in. We both felt this hotel was good value for money and we will come back. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorsett1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in late August, having read the reviews here and knowing what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. It was a bit tricky to find, even with the Google map, but we got there eventually. Our room (4) was a good size and the bathroom was modern and spotlessly clean with a good supply of toiletries. The room itself was pretty clean although the carpet looked like it needed a good hoover - I found a gel shoe insole in the middle of the carpet which was a dead giveaway that it hadn't been cleaned. The second day we were there, my husband inadvertently trod dried mud into the room - I cleaned up as much as I could from the tiles in the bathroom but the rest of it stayed on the bedroom carpet til we left. My husband doesn't usually notice things like this but even he noticed that the carpets on the stairs and hallway still had the same bits of debris lying there from when we arrived to when we left. Was the hoover broken - I want to think the best of this place, since the staff were so nice and friendly? Apart from that, we had a lovely stay - it was very peaceful and, even over the weekend, we weren't disturbed too much by folk coming and going from the bar and restaurant. It was about a ten minute walk down to the main part of the town and it is well worth it - what a beautiful city.
Finbarrs Restaurant was just fabulous - the food was great and the staff so helpful and knowledgeable, they really know their stuff. We were making the most of the local beer since we can't get anything like that on draught where we live, so we didn't bother with the wine, so can't comment on that. The restaurant had apparently recently been refurbished and was bright and airy. As other people have mentioned, the restaurant is paid separately from the room, however, the breakfast you have there can be added to your room bill. The breakfast was good value for money and I would certainly recommend it.
The separate bar area was a bit stuck in the past but who cares, it was friendly and comfortable.
All in all, my only complaint would be the lack of hoovering, but that wasn't really a major issue. We had a great time and Durham was a good centre for exploring the North East. I would definitely stay there again and hope they got the hoover out!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliJonesThurso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingslodgereviews, Manager at The Kingslodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2010

Thank you for your constructive criticism - I brought this up with our Housekeeper who said she was on holiday at the time and had delegated her duties to her second in charge.
No excuse I agree - but warnings have been issued and hopefully this will not happen again.
We are glad that did not totally spoil your stay and hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews