We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveler rating
129
129
48
15
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
129
48
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings lodgecity centretrain stationshower cubiclesmall hotelbreakfast includedfull englishfamily roomquiet locationmin walksingle roomsunday lunchlovely hotelstayed one nightbed was comfortablethree nightstwo night stay
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 327 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2011

On our way back from Scotland we decided to stop off at Durham for a visit to the local attractions and came across the Kings Lodge after the other main hotels were full. Glad we did because it proved to be just the ticket!
We stayed for three nights and found the rooms to be excellent. Spotlessley clean and fairly spacious. The beds were really comforable and we slept like logs! Breakfast was a very good affair with waiter service for a change. The location was very good situated near a park and very quiet (away from the bus garage end!) 10 minute walk and you are in the town centre with lots of good eating places and shops etc. Up the hill to the Cathederal and what a grand place that is.
Overall we would deffinately stay again and would recommend this hotel to all who like piece and quiet and comfort.
Resaurant was also very good, top quality food. Service excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bus depot (garage)
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoxyPhilDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed Friday to Monday. Location about ten min walk from Town Centre. Quite and comfortable residents lounge with complimentary tea/coffee. Small outside area with tables etc: pleasantly shielded from the no through road and bus garage by trees and shrubs.
Our room (No 2) on the small side, but big enough. Large bathroom with small shower booth.
Enough of the room. The highlight is the food at this place. We had two dinners, (in Finbarr's) one a la carte and one from the "de jour" menu. The al la carte was excellent, the food imaginitive and very well cooked and presented. I had a lovely crab starter and my wife a souffle, equally as delicious and this was followed by red mullet-mouthwateringly good.
The "de jour" -my expression not their's-was very good with a choice of three for each course. Again all well cooked and presented and served by the professioanl,efficient and friendly staff. Very good value at about £22.00 for three courses.
Wine list reasonable prices and good quality.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotuseater45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed here for a couple of nights in mid July together with my sister and her husband. The hotel is in a great location on the outskirts of Durham city centre, convenient for both train and bus transport but also within walking distance of the cathedral and castle area. It has the advantage of a good-sized car park which is not easy to find close to the centre of Durham.

The bedrooms were a bit dated in their decor but had all the facilities that you need and they were spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very good, lots of choices on the menu and it was all freshly cooked rather than a buffet. It looked as if the restaurant area had recently been updated as it was much more modern than the rest of the hotel. All the staff who we had contact with during our stay were excellent - polite, friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel as a good choice when visiting Durham due to the great location and the good service from the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmystockton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel isn't bad, it's located juist outside the 'Durham ring road' within easy walking distance to the city center (10 minutes). There's plenty of parking space available, so no complaints there.

We had a deal that included breakfast, we had it at Finnbar's downstairs. Breakfast was really good, but the place is a bit posh, so you have to like that. If you don't have breakfast included at your stay, you might want to eat somewhere else, because it's not cheap. But again, the foods good.

The room was small but okay. Nice bathroom. It's nothing special, but everything was clean en sufficient.

Next door is a bus terminal which can be noisy. During the weekend it was not a problem, but on Mondays it got quite loud. We didn't mind but if you're really into tranquility then this might be a problem. I have to say, it also depends on where your room is located, ours was at the front.

The Kingslodge Hotel is a average hotel and suitable for a short stay to explore Durham, Newcastle and Durham County. Not bad but not spectacular.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulG78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

What a night for Kinglodge! We wondered at first (last January, when planning the trip) why the prices seemed so high, but discovered that the time we needed was graduation from Durham University and parents and relatives were flocking to the city. We realized that every place in town would also raise their prices, and so we agreed to pay the price. We arrived in late afternoon, and were delighted with the big parking lot. We asked to book a table for dinner but were told that this would not be possible as all the tables were booked for grads and parents. We were also told (and this lovely young woman meant this kindly) that every other restaurant in the city would be booked. She kindly arranged for us to be served a meal in our room (to our great relief) and at the agreed upon time, a wonderful hot meal was delivered. When I went downstairs later in the evening the noise from the dining room was overwhelming - but it was 'good noise' - an exciting time for grads and parents, and we didn't mind. As far as sleeping - we never heard a sound. Breakfast was okay - same staff from the night before and they were utterly exhausted. We felt we were crashing a very special party, and we were grateful to the staff for making these two tourists - who did not have a graduating child - feel welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSchindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews