We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amins Spice

Amins Spice
Ranked #116 of 305 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Esh Winning
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

In such an unexpected location, this is great find. The staff are friendly and very happy to give specialist advice on the different types of food on offer. We particularly enjoyed the Bangladeshi cuisine.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    6
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had a lovely meal. Service by waiters excellent, very attentive. Nice atmosphere. My 10 year old was very impressed with her desert "Punky". Would definitely recommend. Hope to return in the near future.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank lottee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
308 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Reviews do it justice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

After checking TA and being in the area, we decided to give the place a try. We were not disappointed at all. The staff were superb, friendly and knowledgable and could not do anything more for you. It is a BYO but this just helps with the bill, a spar around the corner is available. The most important was the food and we all thought it was great. I just wish we lived closer to visit more often but when we are in the area we will be returning and already looking forward to it. Thanks for a great night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Rhooseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Another gents curry club night out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

First visit. Delicious! As usual we left it to the staff to come up with a varied meal for us (7) and we weren't disappointed. Really tasty starter and a wide range of different main courses. Loved the fish with tamarind. Fresh, tasty and good value, definitely will be going back. Takeaways too!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Marco2657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

This place never fails to disappoint. We went to celebrate my husbands birthday and again the food was gorgeous.

You take your own alcohol which brings the price down, but 2 courses for under £30 is excellent value by anyone's standards.

The food is beautifully presented and always tender meat and tasty spices. The menu describes what each dish is and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing to fault with this restaurant at all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Clundy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amins Spice also viewed

Langley Park, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Amins Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing