We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spicetree Lounge - CLOSED

Spicetree Lounge
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Fishburn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I love going to this restaurant. The staff are very friendly and are happy to recommend food or change the way they cook it to your liking. The decor is up-to-date and everytime I have been there I have been pleased with the food and service and always have a great time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fantastic food/ great service & value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

we have been about 6 times now, food is lovely,never had a bad meal yet, service well what can i say, the staff cant do enough for you, would highly recommend going.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliewetherell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best Indian going!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

My parents, partner and myself have visited this restaurant 5 or 6 times and have thoroughly enjoyed it each time. The food has been magnificent each time, particularly the paneer to start and the very spicy mirchi piaza for main course. The quality of the food exceeds that of any Indian I have ever visited, and there have been many. The staff are friendly and attentive. The only downside is that it is often quite empty, probably due to its location, though hopefully this will change as people hear how good it is.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Far Better than many famous Asian Restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife, Mother and I have been eating at this superb Asian Restaurant from the week it opened and I can only say that the Food is probably some of the best Asian cuisine in the UK.

My wife and I live in Bradford and have tried all the best restaurants eg. Shimla, Aggrah, Mumtaz . . . in Nottingham we've tried the Curry Lounge and eaten in many other Asian restaurants in Cambridge, London, Shropshire, Manchester, Newcastle etc. . . Without any doubt the food at the Spicetree Lounge (Trimdon Village) is better than all of these.

We have always had excellent service and find the relaxed pace and knowing that our meals are being individually prepared well worth the wait, instead of being rushed out (which has happened in several of the restaurants mentioned above).

It can be quiet and lack a little atmosphere but do not be put off as the food certainly deserves more people to eat their. The 'Happy Hour' menu is excellent value but even at other times it is still very good value.

If you enjoy Asian food, then my advice is to make your way to the Spicetree Lounge, as soon as possible . . . .

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good night spoilt”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

the service was terrible very rude waiters just wanted you in and out never asked if we wanted our drinks refills if our food was ok really very ignorant think they want some tips on customer service a shame as the food was very good

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lindabob34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spicetree Lounge also viewed

Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Witton Gilbert, Durham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing