We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food”

The Three Horseshoes
Ranked #37 of 304 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

the food was very tasty and reasonably priced the aberdeen angus was delicious and definetly worth a try , a friendly waitress and nice surroundings!!!!! BURGERLICIOUS

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank maria1265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    49
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
durham city
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“At last a pub with real food and proper chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Heard this pub had reopened after a total refurb. Didn't recognise the place - wooden beams, log burner, new French windows into the garden whilst the food (a thick gammon steak with pineapple relish)was freshly cooked to order with thick hand cut chips- the best I've ever tasted. My wife had the seabass and she thought that was more akin to a 4 star hotel. the young staff were pleasant and helpful.
Don't understand the previous review - there are 3 pubs with this name in Durham area. Were they in the right place ? We certainly enjoyed it and will be back soon.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank frankienesbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Been here several times for sunday dinner which is gorgeous and we went on christmas day and the food was amazing,lovely service and the kids got a selection box. food was served fast but you could choose to take a break inbetween the 6 courses. really nice place :)

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherinemarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sunday dinner a real treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

me and my family went to the three horse shoes for lunch on recomendation of our neighbors and we wernt let down the whole place has changed and a whole new atmosphere of a restaurant striving to be the best, we were satdown infront of the bar by paul (co-owner) who was really polite as our tsable was prepared, the place was packed. we were shown to our table by our waitress she returned in minuets with our drinks and took our order, i had roast loin of pork my missus had beefand the kids hadchicken dippers, the food was astounding! we went on to have puddings which were also very tasty, we will defonately be back for the proper menu what a 1st impression

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a change!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

I recently went to the Three Horseshoes with my family as we had heard it had re-opened after being closed for about a year. We just assumed it would be the same sort of place but the whole pub has been redeveloped into a brighter fresher place, the old low dark ceilings are gone and now the pub has high exposed beams and doors onto a lovely new beer garden. I asked about the pool room which used to be at the rear and according to the waitress this is now state of the art kitchen! It is evident major money has been spent to really modernise this place without losing the charm associated with an old English coaching inn. Anyway onto the food, we were shown to our table and given menus. My wife decided to just have a main course and decided on the Salmon and said it was amazing. I had the cheese souffle to start which i have to say was perfect! Then I had the steak and ale pie which literally melted in my mouth, washed down with a nice pint of Stella. After this experience i will definitely be back.
This is what derwentside and the lanchester area has been crying out for!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Horseshoes also viewed

Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 
Consett, County Durham
 

Been to The Three Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing