We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, big room”
Review of St. Chad's College

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Chad's College
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Durham
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean, big room”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Big clean room although bed is bit lumpy but can't complain since it is dorm room.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Viviane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights while carrying out research in the area. The location of the college is perfect for tourists, situated in the old town opposite the cathedral the streets are cute and quiet. The only noise are the cathedral bells which go off at all hours of the night as well as the milkman driving past!

The rooms are basic, clean and completely vary in size. Some of the single rooms could almost fit two double beds in. Each room has a sink, and some have en-suites and a refrigerator. The shared showers I found to be cold. Unfortunately, there is no WiFi and the rooms do not have any televisions, but they do include a shared kitchen, bathroom, and coffee facilities. In my case, upon visiting I found that previous students living there had left a substantial amount of food in the fridge.

The staff here are welcoming and friendly and the large breakfast served in the morning was a great start to the day! Would recommend to anybody visiting the area if you're looking for affordable accommodation in a fantastic location!

Room Tip: The rooms in the 'Grads house' are on the larger size
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jess E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I was visiting Durham with my son to check out the university. We booked into St Chads, one of the colleges, for bed and breakfast. This is a lovely old building right in the centre of Durham. Our room was directly across the road from the cathedral, and in the morning I woke up to the sun glinting off the cathedral's stunning rose window. The room was very clean and newly refurbished. The bed was comfortable and I slept like a log! The en-suites were all already booked, so there was a basin in the room but bathrooms were shared. This was not really a problem though, and the facilities were new and clean. There is a good bar in the college open till quite late and breakfast was plentiful and buffet-style in the college dining hall, a beautiful room. There is also a lovely garden to walk around or sit in. There is no parking next to the college but we were able to drop our bags off and were given a pass and directions to free parking elsewhere, a short and very pleasant walk away across the river. For the price, this was an exceptional bed & breakfast experience.

Room Tip: Shared facilities are fine but we did have to wait a little while for the shower in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juno1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed in the guest housing at St. Chad's College, one of the colleges that make up Durham University. St. Chad's is right across the street from the cathedral, so you get a quarterly dose of the bells. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and there is daily maid service. Our room shared a communal shower and toilet, but some smaller rooms are en suite. The location could not be better--a short walk to the market centre and scores of restaurants. There is a shuttle bus from the cathedral to the bus and train stations. Breakfast is in the college dining hall and offers the "English" breakfast menu plus continental alternatives. Bed & breakfast guests have reserved tables, so you don't have to jostle with the summer students for a seat. The college has a sort of lounge in its covered courtyard, complete with a bar and TV room. It is also the only place with wi-fi reception. The rooms have a hardwire connection. Both require opening an account with the college. The overall cost is a good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kansas57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
3.9 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#13 of 19 in Durham
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Town House Durham
The Town House Durham
#4 of 38 in Durham
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Chad's College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Chad's College

Property: St. Chad's College
Address: North Bailey Street, Durham, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Durham
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Chad's College 3*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing