We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best In The North”
Review of Treats Tea Room

Treats Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Award Winning -Treats Tea Shop is situated in Siver Street, Durham City, not far from Marks & Spencer and on the same side of the street as the Post Office: we are on the right hand side of The Bodyshop up a short flight of stairs: we assist with wheelchair access and pushchairs:All of our food is made on the premises from the very best of ingredients: our menu ranges from home made scones to large portions of home made cake to toasted sandwiches / paninis / jacket potatoes / soup/ salads / sandwiches etc... all of which are generously served with fresh salad,homemade coleslaw and hand cooked crisps... we make our own curry,chilli and lasagne and we cook our own hams and chicken fillets.. we also make our own tray bakes including mars bar,mint & orange aero,malteser,toffee popcorn,crunchy,rocky road and our own flapjacks.... our cakes include lemon/chocolate/carrot&walnut/victoria sandwich, we also do frangipan/homemade egg custard/apple pie/tea breads/lemon meringue etc.. we have a lovely choice..We only use the very best Ringtons tea and coffee which is Fairtrade and have a variety of soft drinks: we are also licensed to sell bottled beers/cans/wine/cider etc.. Our MilkShakes are made with real dairy ice cream - try our new Smores shake - Chocolate and toasted Marshmallow - delicious ...we are an independent coffee shop committed to providing quality food at a reasonable price whilst incorporating excellent customer service..we look forward to welcoming you to Treats Tea Shop... thank you
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best In The North”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I visit Treats about twice a week and we can only repeat what everyone else thinks.
The food is excellent and they do a Lemon drizzle cake to die for.The owner and staff are very
Friendly and it is this which gives the buzz and atmosphere which adds to the enjoyment of the visit.
Of all the Tea Rooms visited this has got to be the best in the North.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Qoumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reedyDurham, Owner at Treats Tea Room, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
hello:
thank you very much for your lovely review of our cafe: to say we are the best in the north is absolutely superb and very kind of you: i must admit its nice when the cafe has a buzz to it and its great to see people meeting socially and having a laugh and catching up on news:
we look forward to seeing you in the cafe very soon: please mention this review so that we can thank you in person:
very best wishes
kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    111
    36
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north east
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best in Durham”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Once again called in for Lunch and not disappointed. Food excellent at a very competitive price. The ambiance of the shop and the extremely friendly owner provides a great atmosphere, without doubt the best eaterie in Durham.

Helpful?
Thank rontheref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reedyDurham, Owner at Treats Tea Room, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I was really interested to see your user name of ' rontheref '
are you that famous premier league referee ? do you usually get the 'ron' around by overpaid footballers ? only joking !!!
thank you very much for your kind review: to say we are the best in Durham means EVERYTHING to us and its so very kind of you to say so: we're so very pleased you like eating in our cafe and think it is a friendly place with a good atmosphere:
look forward to se you again very soon....
please keep the red cards in your pocket !!! ... and i hope you know the 'offside rule' !!!
best wishes
Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Fantastic food,excellent value.”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

On Silver Street, up the stairs is this excellent coffee shop.

The soup is homemade , as are the fabulous cakes. Lots of choice from toasties , jacket potatoes, quiche,corned beef & potato pie and much more. Friendly staff.

Generous portions - the chocolate cake was so large ,I took half home !!!

Toilets are on the floor above, that's the only disadvantage, as are the stairs from the street .
If you can manage it, you are in for a treat !!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r00m_with_a_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reedyDurham, Owner at Treats Tea Room, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
What a lovely review: thank you very much: we continually try to give value for money whether its our home made cake or toasties/paninis served with fresh salad, home made coleslaw and crisps: so we were so pleased that you enjoyed the chocolate cake and took some home to enjoy later: its something we actively encourage and really enjoy seeing customers leave the cafe happy: we will always put customers first with good food / good service / good value...
thank you for your very kind words.. we look forward to seeing you again soon..
best wishes
Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO DURHAM
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“At Last”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

After living in Durham for many years wondering if we would ever find a coffee shop that would sell great coffee and homemade food we found Treats. Great afternoon lunch's with generous portions and always consistent,as we all no you just think you have found somewhere good and the service dips not here.Congrats to a business that maintains high quality at very reasonable prices in the middle of our historic and overpriced city, it can be done.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TURNIPCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reedyDurham, Owner at Treats Tea Room, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review of our cafe: we set out 2 years ago with the intention of making 'Treats' the best coffee shop in Durham and we're still aiming for this coveted title: and the only way we'll get there is by keeping customers happy every day with our food, service and value...
you're so right when you say places 'dip on service'after a while and i've seen this myself at many restaurants and cafes:
so we will always try to keep the service level very high and make sure that every customer leaves satisfied:
thank you very much for your kind words: we really do appreciate them and look forward to serving you again soon:
best wishes
Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“HUUUUGE PORTIONS!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Tasty, fresh, home-made food, friendly staff, gigantic portions, fantastic prices. I wish we lived in Durham so we could visit again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TessABol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reedyDurham, Owner at Treats Tea Room, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
hi:
thank you so much for your kind review of our cafe:
we were delighted that you liked the cafe and that we were able to serve you with food which you found good value and enjoyable:
you could always move to Durham and we would be very happy to welcome you as a regular !!
or we could open a similar cafe in Bolton !!
we wont hold it against you that Bolton knocked us (Sunderland) out of the FA Cup on tuesday !!
hope if you're ever in the area again that you will pop in and see us for lunch
best wishes
and thanks very much
Kieran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treats Tea Room also viewed

Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Treats Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing