We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent steak night !”

Bailey's Restaurant
Ranked #113 of 309 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Awarded a Rosette for the second consecutive year in June 2012, celebrating our commitment to excellent food and great service, Bailey's Restaurant offers contemporary dining in stylish, comfortable surroundings. Our menus change seasonally, created by Executive Head Chef Harry Bailie, using locally sourced produce wherever possible.The same menu runs throughout the building, giving you the choice of dining in our restaurant, comfortable bar, or relaxed Atirum area.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent steak night !”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My friend and I used a travelzoo voucher which entitled us to sirloin steak with all of the trimmings plus a bottle of wine for £29. This is a fantastic deal. The staff were extremely friendly when we arrived and greeted us warmly, even the Manager came to chat whilst we were discussing our wine choices, he couldn't have been more helpful. We were offered iced water without even having to ask for it. The food arrived quickly and both steaks were cooked to perfection, my friend commented it was one of the nicest she'd ever eaten ! The homemade chips were scrumptious, the salad was crisp and fresh with a lovely light dressing. Our waitress Natalie was very friendly making sure everything was to our satisfaction, which it was.
All in all a great night, I have also eaten there with my husband several times who really enjoys the fish and chip night, again excellent quality and well worth a visit, I will certainly return very soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bishoptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at Bailey's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Bishoptraveller,
Thank you for your kind review, i'm delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us. I'll be sure to pass your kind words onto Natalie, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    53
    21
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surat Thani, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Forget that diet......”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

......until you've eaten a meal at this excellent restaurant! Very good choice of dishes on the menu and the food was cooked to perfection with a full range of flavours with some of the best presentation I have seen in a long time. As a previous reviewer has said the service could not be faulted and there was a good atmosphere in the restaurant which always helps. Good intervals between the courses and a pretty good wine list.
If you've not been and are in the area, then book a table and go.....the diet can start the next day!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suratrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at Bailey's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Suratrichard,
Thank you for your review, i'm delighted that everything was to your liking and that you found our food to be cooked to perfection & well presented, we really do appreciate the kind words. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a great meal. the food was beautifully cooked, really recommend. Service could not be faulted, fast and friendly. Would go back

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank greentomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestLawyerHotel, General Manager at Bailey's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear greentomato, thank you for your kind review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Unsal Aydin, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in a Best Western Hotel”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were totally impressed with the choice, quality and presentation of the food at the Honest Lawyer. It was a last minute decision to book half board, but was definitely worth it. We deliberately chose different dishes in order to try as much as possible and found it comparable with a recent meal at Miller Howe in Windermere. Fantastic beetroot carpaccio salad and garlic prawns to start, duo of duck (with proper chips/pommes pont neuf) and calves liver for main and lemon tarte and cheese board to finish. Decent selection of wines by the glass or bottle. Our only gripe was a relatively rapid service of starters to mains, that felt slightly rushed when the restaurant was not hugely busy.

The following day was Easter Sunday and every table in the restaurant and bar was fully booked - probably best to book to be sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tintinrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good food,well cooked, local ingredients, excellent chef and his team provide that little bit extra in the way of presentation, Pleasant surroundings and comfortable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmigoWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bailey's Restaurant also viewed

High Shincliffe, Durham
 

Been to Bailey's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing