We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great curry”
Review of Alishaan

Alishaan
Ranked #39 of 380 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Took our son back to uni and needed somewhere to eat and wanted a curry. Visited here and enjoyed a really nice curry at a decent price.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank 993scotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 381 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

Have not been here for years. Had good memories. Was passing and tired and in no mood to cook so stopped for some lamb chops and veg for dinner. Agreed £15 for 5 chops. Pleasant and polite staff.
Veg was good but got 4 skinny chops (which tasted fine and were tender) and one "stick" (bone). Felt short-changed as couldn't go back to complain. Doubt I will go back in a hurry for take away, but would try again if eating but not for the skinny chops!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019 via mobile

We eat here regularly with friends and the food is always excellent. I had the tandoori platter. The staff are always pleasant and very obliging.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank mick1518979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019

Went for birthday meal and to compare to against other Indian restaurants in Durham. Great food, really nice atmosphere and the service was phenomenal from every member of staff. Would highly recommend to anyone!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank matjstep12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019

The food was great quality, arrived in good time, and generally the service was good until we wanted to pay. We all had student cards (5 of us) for the discount they advertise on their website but we were then told we had to pay in cash. This was not stated on their website, despite them claiming it was a practice in place for over 6 months. Only two of our party had cash and we had to dispute this for a while until they allowed us to pay by card "this time only". We felt discriminated against as students and would probably not come back again. Why advertise a student discount if you are not student friendly? This caveat of paying by cash should be listed on the website so that people can come prepared.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alishaan also viewed

Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Alishaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing