We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped for a Coffee and Snack”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Saddlers Cafe and Bistro - CLOSED

Saddlers Cafe and Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: An inviting, affordable and down to earth cafe bistro located in Saddler street. Delicious homemade food cooked to order, from sandwiches to pasta dishes, something to cater for everybody's taste, including our weekday specials menu. If you don't fancy a full meal enjoy a homemade scone or slice of cake. We also serve "proper coffee" made from espresso, various tea's, milkshakes, soft drinks and alchohol. Everyone welcome!
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stopped for a Coffee and Snack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stoppped at this busy bistro just for a coffee and snack when it was very busy. We had to be seated upstairs where there are two separate rooms. The quality of the drinks and the food was good and the service was quite acceptable despite the busy time of day. A good place to pop in for a snack or something more substantial. The specials board had corned beef pie as an option, which I have never seen anywhere else!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    69
    26
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Pretty run of the mill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Pretty run of the mill average food here. Very local cafe look and feel. Had the bacon and pancakes, which was hot, fresh and served quickly. Pretty reasonably priced. If you're after something for sustenance rather than something special, this is a good choice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average food, okay service, slightly awkward atmosphere.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Visited Saddlers at around 2:30 Saturday afternoon. Got shown to a table in the back part of the upstairs seating area and shortly after got asked our drink orders. The waitress went to another table to take another order then we asked to change one of the drinks. When they brought the drinks they brought what we had originally asked for but there was no hassle at all when we said they'd got it wrong.. they brought us the correct drink with an appology.. excellent service so far :-). The atmosphere was slightly awkward in the room as the tables were so close together to the others. Decoration felt cold.. plain white walls. The food took a nice amount of time to arrive. Not too soon and not too late! The salad which came with the pannini was naff, some iceberg lettuce, some grated carrot and 1 slice of tomato. Tuna and cheese pannini was nice and the cajun chicken wrap was good. The waitress's were all nice and smiley and friendly although found it rather odd that one of the older waitress' came in the room and asked each table individually if they were all okay which was fine but then called out to the whole room if everyone was okay... like we were a bunch of children or something. Plates cleared away soon after we'd finished eating. Reasonably priced although the menus looked cheap (one font and one size font). Overall an average experience with good/okay food. Only thing disappointing really was the salad, could have been spiced up a bit with some mixed leaf salad (which is cheap enough for them to afford) and maybe some onion and cucumber, with a nice salad dressing :-).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would return in a second”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very welcoming atmosphere. Nice decor. Really lovely light menu at very reasonable prices. Kids menu good too. Suited my family of 4 very well...children aged 5 and 8.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Busy cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

A very busy bistro which we visited for breakfast, extensive breakfast menu, scones with plenty of fruit in them.
A very good latte, A welcoming manager.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chockchockgazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saddlers Cafe and Bistro also viewed

Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing