We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed. Style over substance.”

Claypath Delicatessen
Ranked #60 of 312 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Greek, Spanish, British, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointed. Style over substance.”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I love a good deli so was looking forward to being able to dine in here as well as choose something yummy to take away with us but was very disappointed.

Yes, the place has a good atmosphere and quirky glasses and slate for plates but this cannot compensate for average food.

I had the vegetarian Greek meze which was supposed to come with roasted vegetables and toasted bread. What arrived was a bowl of vine leaves, a bowl of olives, hummus, salad and a 2 inch square of feta. On the side was a bread roll. Really nothing better than you can buy in Tesco.

The children had cheese and ham paninis that had been flattened to within an inch of their lives - looked like a shoe insole.

Very disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    18
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very nice experience”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My bf and i were sure about that a restaurant must got very attractive characters to have that limited business hours, and our last time visit proved that we are right.
The atmosphere is pleasant and peaceful. The food is so charming, fresh, i can feel the sincerity of the chef.

The tea pot and little cup are so cute, i think no one would not adore them.
The most reason i like this restaurant is... it's so close to my home, i can walk to there like to my own back garden...

The only thing is that the business there is so good, so your dished may not that quick be served to you, but i think the man who served us is the same person who cooked in the kitchen, so i think that is understandable.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovingyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem of a place, lovely deli and great value”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Food is great and very reasonably priced. Nice decor and relaxing atmosphere, nicer than all the places in the main centre of Durham.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JD6868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosmopolitan yet village heaven”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We do live very near, and reckon that we are blessed to have an extra room to our house. Quality and value are second to none, so are the owners Rory and Angela, but it is also the atmosphere and clientele that make it so special. It is cosmopolitan in the best sense, but you also practically quaranteed to see the village doctor, the village policeman, the village fitness trainer, the village nurses, and even the village soldiers, plus the invincible rugby team. Oh and various eminent professors. Don't miss out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little place.”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

If visiting Durham do yourself a favour and walk the 5 minutes up claypath foe the best little cafe in the city. Lots of lovely interesting food served with good coffee ( and tea etc. ) Wonderful find.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fliperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Claypath Delicatessen also viewed

Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Claypath Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing