We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Days Inn Durham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Durham
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

What a dirty, filthy hotel!! I will never stay here again, we have taken photos as its unbelievable!! And then to get wokeb early in the morning by foreign voices shouting down the corridor!! Its no wonder that you have no one on reception in the mornings, i wouldnt want to be asking people if they had a nice stay in this hell hole!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojoh38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise B, Manager at Days Inn Durham, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Myself and the team here at Days Inn Durham endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. The housekeeping team work to high standards and regularly get compliments on how clean the rooms are and again apologise to you as this does not seem to be the case in this incident. The rooms are undergoing refurbishment in stages and hopefully this will be completed soon.
I apologise that you had been woken early by the noise from other guests, and the night reception have undergone re-training because of this and hopefully this won't happen again.

If you would like to contact me directly please email durham@daysinnrc.co.uk

Kind regards
Denise Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    86
    48
    24
    12
See reviews for
63
69
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton
Level Contributor
137 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Days Inn on a Tuesday night. I checked in at just gone three, and checked out the next day at 10.30am. The staff were very approachable, informative and carrying,concerned that I had a good stay, and provided me with two contact numbers should I need them. I slept well, refreshed for the next day. I shall certainly stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ruthiebabes007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise B, General Manager at Days Inn Durham, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of Days Inn Durham. I know the whole team are delighted with your kind praise, and that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back here very soon.
Kind regards
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed on a Saturday night. Very quiet, clean and tidy.

As you expect very standard accommodation but good value if you can get the room rate at the right price.

No place adjacent for a evening meal but a couple of pubs are in easy driving distance.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GARY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise B, General Manager at Days Inn Durham, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your review
I will pass on your lovely comments to the staff
I do hope to welcome you back to Days Inn Durham soon and thank you again for your review.
Kind regards
Denise Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were booked into this hotel as it was Graduation week & no room was available near to NS&I office by the river.
We arrived & booked into our rooms I was in 8. The staff were friendly & very helpful but no food was available here only McDonalds or Costa Coffee on the services.
The room was a good size with a comfy bed but believe me unless you are travelling further north & resting your head there is nothing to do here but get bored. 3 miles into Durham £13 taxi.
Work paid £60 a night for the room personally I think they were overcharged for the facilities.

Room Tip: 8 looks onto services but I heard nothing at all noise wise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilwatson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We arrived at the hotel having spent a very pleasant day at the Christmas Fayre in Durham deciding to stay rather than driving back to Leicester late at night. The hotel receptionist was very pleasant and efficent, the room was fine. At about 19.00 a group of people arrived at the hotel, banging doors shouting and playing music loudly. We contacted the reception desk at 20.30 to log a complaint and were told they would sort it out and that the party were going out at 21.30 so would be spoken to, the noise continued until half of them left at 21.30 the remaining ones were slightly quieter . At 02.00 when the group returned to the hotel they beganwith doors being banged ,kicked, loud music playing , this lead to other guests banging on walls and shouting , and ranting outside the hotel. This situation continued until 04.30 when people started leaving. Nothing was done by the hotel nobody was available in the morning when we left at 09.00 and they haven't replied to any emails we have sent. Avoid this hotel at all costs

Dissatisfied of Leicester

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durham hotels

Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I always rate my experiences compared to what I was expecting beforehand. Staying at a Days Inn just off the A1 at a service station, I wasn't expecting much at all and chose the place for the convenience of being right on the A1 for an early morning journey into South Shields the following morning. However the place really did the job and provided me with a good nights sleep before the Great North Run the day after.

The afternoon we checked in, there was only one member of staff on reception who seemed to have the job of receptionist, security and cleaner! Considering this was probably their busiest weekend of the year because of the Great North Run, more staff should have been put on to help this person out. However I'm not rating down my experience because of this as it didn't affect our stay in any way, and this person could not have been more helpful considering the obvious stress they were under.

Beware if booking through certain websites that the hotel itself does not offer breakfast, contrary to suggesting that it is available at £7.50 which will be added to your bill. All the hotel offers is a £7.50 voucher for £10 worth of food at the adjoining service station which contains a 24hr McDonalds and a Costa which that weekend at least opened at 6am. This may not be what you are expecting so beware.

Overall, an excellent stay for one night with nothing at all to complain about.

Room Tip: At the moment, I'm told the ground was the only floor not affected by the water damage so probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dstefanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were down for the cricket and really only needed somewhere to put our head down for the night but even for that I would t recommend it.
The initial booking was mixed up by them and then again on arrival. After sorting it out we were given a room with a dirty shower head, filthy bath and broken lights.
On arrival there were a number of people drinking vodka outside and again at 8.30 am when we left on the Sunday. We were told by out taxi driver immigrants are stayin there whilst working down the road and have been there for weeks.Didn't feel particularly comfortable leaving anything of any value in the room as it was a flimsy lock ad intercom to get in either didn't work or they just let anyone in.
I feel totally aggrieved to have paid 70 pound for a nights stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rounders32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise B, General Manager at Days Inn Durham, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Days Inn Durham we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. We cannot apologise enough over the mix up on your reservation, we have been recovering from major water damage in the hotel over the summer and whilst renovation has been going on we have been able to offer a short term accommodation agreement to a Polish based engineering firm. Unfortunately there looks as though there has been some misunderstanding with the taxi company that you used during your stay. We can confirm the engineer’s staying here are highly skilled and the group you witnessed does not bare a reflection on the group that are staying with us.
We hope the renovations will be finished by the end of year, however I have attached some photos of how the rooms will look.
Again please accept our apologies and please get in touch by email at durham@daysinnrc.co.uk as I’ll be happy to offer you a complement stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.6 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn Hall
#11 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
4.0 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Durham

Property: Days Inn Durham
Address: Tursdale Road | Roadchef Motorway Service Area, Durham DH6 5NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Durham 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing