We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with a car park”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Three Tuns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Tuns Hotel
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with a car park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Small room but perfect for my needs. Restaurant had a menu that changed every night, it always had plenty of selection, great value as well. Great car park though limited on spaces.
The hotel is perfectly situated within walking distance of all attractions of Durham.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niviksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    74
    72
    46
    27
See reviews for
24
112
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Yes this hotel is tired, it has been in administration since 2006?. But it has lots of charm, why do the patrons not frequent the bar which is OK, yes it could be better but if you do not use the hotel it will not get investment it needs.
The staff try their best and I feel are always doing their best for the customer and it must be hard knowing that you are in a one horse twon and that horse is the University which covets your position, your history and I suspect would be able to get this little old lady at a knockdown price.. More student accommodation, or more confernece facilities but I suspect litlle more choice for the visitor.
We have stayed here twice and hope to get to stay here many more times before our daughter graduates. The evening meal always gives us a nice option, and a little walk up the stairs.
Please hotelliers keep this little gem, and if you can update - I am sure it will pay off. Though I suspect our room rates will be too high.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paultrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

The shabby carpets, the holes in the wallpaper, the worn out tired decor pulled this hotel way down. It could be so much better than this. The staff were friendly enough, but I got the impression that they just could not be bothered anymore. On the plus side, the breakfast room had ancient beams and doors, with linen table cloths and good cutlery. Service here was efficient and smart, and the cooked breakfast was good. A poor selection on the continental buffet, though. There was plenty of hot water in the bathroom, and it was very clean, but oh so shabby. Beds were comfy and the room was warm. I had to ask for a hairdryer, and towels, and the T.V. was ancient. The free parking was helpful, and it was only a few minutes walk to the restaurants and the cathedral etc. The hotel was not an uplifting experience.

Room Tip: Room 111, a twin, is a good size. It is a little noisy with the road outside, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Yes I agree the hotel would be improved with a refurbishment and hopefully this will happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked this hotel for 2 nights as part of a nostagic trip as we used to spend time in the bar many years ago. How the place has deteriorated! The entrance porch was the scruffiest I have seen. The reception area, the bar area and the restaurant still retained some of their old world charm and the staff were very pleasant. However,the corridors and our bedroom were badly in need of renovation-peeling wallpaper in the corridors and a very tired looking bathroom. This would be a comfortable hotel if the owners spent some money on it but we won't be returning until that is done

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the rear car park will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
i agree the hotel requires some redevelopment but hope that is reflected in our pricing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Durham hotels

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I were attracted to this hotel through a discounted offer and a chance to visit Durham. We booked a three night B&B+Dinner package which also included free entrance to the Beamish Museum at £99 each, per stay.
Our first impression from parking in the hotel car park to the entrance caused dissapointment; due to dirty and poor decoration of the building, then a rotting ground floor window. The entrance door and carpetting leading into the reception was equally dirty and shaby. All othe areas of the hotel were unkempt; worn out carpets (taped together in places) and surfaces with more than a few days dust accumulation.
Our room was not much better. The en-suite was as poorly maintained as elsewhere. The taps and shower all leaked, the toilet roll holder was broken.
Dinner was average but breakfast on the first morning was lacking the advertised Muesli. We complained to the waiter but he did'nt even respond! We then complained to the management who did'nt even know this nor when the next delivery would come.
On our third evening we missed the 'average' dinner preferring to eat at a local ItalianTrattoria (Spagetata) which was excellent; it was packed and ''Buzzing with good atmosphere'' but only waited about ten minutes to be seated.
The hotel staff were somewhat unprofessional in dress, attitude and also knowledge of tourist
facilities. We had to complain about dirty wet towels not being replaced; despite them having been left in the usual place to be changed i.e. the bath.
The location, just across from the 'old town' and parking was excellent.
On checking out we were'nt even bid any friendly good bye.
Would we stay there again?... NO!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEPHEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
This guest has complained directly to the hotel so I cannot comment on this at present.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

It is what it is, a low cost hotel in a great location just steps away from Durham City Centre. Service was OK, cleanliness was good and Breakfast was good with pleasant service. Decor is shabby and some bedroom fittings were years passed needing replacement, but the room was warm, roomy and comfortable. You get what you pay for! I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
It is good to note that you found the hotel value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Have just returned from weekend in Durham and the hotel did nt live up to our expectation. Very surprised on arrival by the deteriorating facade to the hotel and this shows that the hotel is badly in need of some TLC. Our room was just about ok despite a stained carpet, noisy plumbing and in need of a makeover.
After a night out in Durham we got to bed about midnight. We were amazed to get into the bed which was the most uncomfortable hotel bed I have ever experienced. I suspect the mattress should have had a mattress topper. I was also surprised to see that the thin sheet was straight over the mattress without any mattress protector. On speaking to the receptionist I received agreement that some of the beds 'were a bit tired'. Breakfast was ok but a pretty mediocre place to stay. Staff were doing reasonable job but I suspect not very easy to give good service when the place is lacking any investment.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the main road and was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorvik82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_threetuns, General Manager at Three Tuns Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are sorry you had an uncomfortable night and acknowledge investment would improve the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.0 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Tuns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Tuns Hotel

Property: Three Tuns Hotel
Address: Three Tuns 10 New Elvet, Durham DH1 3AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Tuns Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 16th-century Tudor-style hotel situated in heart of Durham, within walking distance of Norman Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Three Tuns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Tuns Hotel
Three Tuns Hotel Durham
Three Tuns Durham
Durham Three Tuns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing