We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

At first the Durham Marriott Royal County looks like a cozy little English inn, but as you progress though the maze of building(s) you also progress through the centuries, and rooms in the newer parts tend to have a more modern look and feel. Our rooms were in the older part of the building and were tiny (especially for two adults) but well appointed. Although we were on the first floor, we noticed that the lifts were not functioning. I must agree with a previous reviewer about the toilet, which was very difficult to flush. But the bathrooms are well designed and have plenty of counter and storage space for toiletries. I did have qualms about bathtub accessibility though. As in many older remodeled buildings, plumbing is often run under the tub, resulting in a tub floor that is an inch or two higher than the bathroom floor height. That can make getting out of the tub tricky. There should be grab bars. I must also must agree about WiFi. While the Marriott does have WiFi in public areas, in this day and age, it is inappropriate for a hotel of this caliber to charge for in room WiFi - £15 a day! Just insane. The Marriot has a lot going for it – a fantastic location, which is walking distance to everything in Durham. It has an excellent bar, and an excellent restaurant with a great breakfast buffet. But if a full breakfast isn’t your cup of tea, there’s a Starbucks connected to the Marriott with great WiFi access. The Marriott also has great beds, spotlessly clean rooms with very helpful and accommodating housekeeping staff, fantastic swimming pool and gym. The staff were always very helpful whether we needed directions or restaurant recommendations. Unfortunately, our room had a dismal view of the parking lot and highway, but the other side of the hotel sits right on the river and has great views, ask for a river view room. There are other options for hotels in Durham – some more expensive, some cheaper. I think the Marriott strikes a good balance. As we left, I noticed that they were preparing for a major renovation, I hope that they will retain the feeling of an old country inn as they modernize. I will likely return and see how they did.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ritan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    524
    262
    123
    51
See reviews for
278
572
53
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight. Staff really friendly, room comfortable and v gd location with great views. However heating far too high and couldn't turn down and lifts a bit interesting getting in and out with a case! Fire alarm flashed too above bed which was a bit annoying

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SJAshcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We have just come back from staying for our anniversary weekend and upon checking in were told that we had been upgraded to a suite which was absolutely fantastic, we were most impressed with the room itself and also equally impressed when room service delivered us some complimentary champagne. Must say that it was the best nights sleep in a hotel i have had for a long time as you could not hear any surrounding noises at all. The staff were very professional and helpful and made our stay most enjoyable. Would definately stay here again and certainly would recommend it.

Room Tip: room 307 the barring suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicegollum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shefford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a business trip. Check in was very efficient but the hotel is very big on different levels and more signs and help needed to find your room. The elevators do need to be replaced or fixed all times I used them the doors did not open fully making it difficult to get out of the lift.

Once I got to the room it was great bathroom massive spotless great shower and huge bed with a separate siting area. My company had organised a event here and we had a separate bar area and room and the food was great melon starter was good chicken was well cooked and the desert was good as was the service.

The bar stayed open in to the early hours all with fab service . In the morning I needed to work and was disappointed to find a £15 a day wifi charge or £6 a day which I feel is expensive and most hotels offer this for free now. Once I had paid though it was very good.

Breakfast was great a choice off buffet all freshly cooked and plenty off choice and eggs cooked to order which was great. I would stay here again they just need to get lifts sorted and I think wifi should be cheaper or free you can go to most places now and get free wifi.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here for a treat one weekend and really enjoyed the experience. Parking was a little difficult but once inside we were made to feel very welcome. The staff are friendly and check in was swift. The building itself was looking slightly worn around the edges. The food and bar were good but expensive but was expected in a city hotel and overall we had a really nice stay and will go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Des Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We told the staff when booking that our booking was to celebrate our ten year anniversary, and asked for a nice view. We were actually upgraded to a top floor suite, with great views of the City and the Castle. The room was exceptional and had a spa bath, plus we were greeted with a bottled of chilled wine in the room. The staff were very helpful and the weekend was wonderful. Would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask when booking, higher rooms best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Overall, the location is excellent - in the centre of Durham city, near to the cathedral and student areas. Full of life, bars, restaurants, lots of history.

Breakfast at the hotel was excellent, lots of choice and friendly staff. Waffles made to order which were very nice.

Staff seem a little obsessed with whether or not you had swiped your credit card at checkin for extras, you are asked every day at the bar, each time you go to the bar, gets a little irritating and seems untrusting.

Nice location, some staff training would help to improve customer service.

Room Tip: select 'river side' view - little awkward to get to from reception but worth it for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ_Beijing2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Property: Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner from the Source Grill menu featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in the Durham Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing