We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Got off to a shaky start as the pool had to be shut due to somebody being sick in there, then when we got to the room the fan was broken and the ice machine in the corridor was broken, but after complaining to very polite reception staff the fan was promptly replaced and a bucket of ice was brought straight up to us.
We had chose to stay for breakfast which was absolutely fantastic, they have a massive choice and eggs are cooked for you however you want them. Couldn't have wished for a better stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    524
    260
    123
    51
See reviews for
277
571
53
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Waiting 35 minutes for a cold sandwich on arrival should have been the red flag warning to check in elsewhere, followed by the pool and jacuzzi being off , then a 45 minute wait for evening meal which the full 45 minutes waiting was spent ignored by staff and this was only the first night! The Saturday followed with the jacuzzi still being out of action and the pool off limits till earliest 1pm where as this may seem trivial to the hotel we had arrived for a relaxing weekend with the pool jacuzzi etc one of the biggest selling points to stay. On that note we had to venture out into the city for the day to occupy our time which in current weather conditions was not on the agenda. After a lazy service the night before we opted to eat out on the Saturday. Sunday morning came round and the jacuzzi was still broke so after a quick breakfast and sauna it was time to check out and we where greeted with an arrogant man who quite clearly did not care that the weekend had been ruined by the establishment!
Avoid this hotel if you value good customer service or are looking for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read about your experience when ordering food and I apologise for the wait you encountered. Unfortunately there was an unforeseen incident in the swimming pool last weekend and protocol dictated that in the interest of our guests’ safety, it was necessary to close the pool for a 24 hour period. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County in the near future.
Warm regards
Des Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,545 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions in the past, and this week called in for food. It is in a perfect location in Durham City, close to Elvet Bridge and within easy walking distance of the river, shops and historic highlights of the town. Indeed, riverbank walks are right behind the hotel. Rooms are clean and well appointed and service very good. The main dining room of the hotel serves fuil breakfasts and dinners and the original more casual dining area has now been replaced with a Starbucks coffee shop. This is excellent as good coffee, sandwiches and free wi-fi are available on the spot throughout the day. The hotel is fairly expensive but you are paying for the Marriott name, quality and location but there are numerous restaurants and cafes within easy reach if you don't want to eat 'in house'.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington spa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed one night in this hotel, on business, as it was handy for where I needed to be and the price for the night, including breakfast, was cheaper than the Premier Inn! What a good decision, the room was spotless and quiet, the bed was really comfortable. The breakfast was very good and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. One of my best nights away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I can't praise the staff highly enough. I arrived at 10.30 am which was no trouble to them at all, I was to be able to go straight to my room to drop my bag off and freshen up before going off to the University College and tour with my daughter.
The room was spotlessly clean, the bed amazingly comfortable, the food was excellent and staff so friendly and helpful, I wouldn't hesitate to book again. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjcwbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I have been to this hotel quite a few times now and the staff are lovely, especially the breakfast team and bar staff. They are pleasant and helpful and nothing feel's too much trouble. The rooms are clean and so is the spa centre.

There is an unfortunate lack of parking and I wouldn't pay extra for a superior room again as I was disappointed that it was small and aparently cost extra because it had air conditioning. You don't need it in the frozen North, open the window! The hotel has lovely soft pillows so you can get a good night's sleep.

If you are lucky you get a view of the river and can watch the rowing on Sunday mornings but if not, get up a bit earlier and walk along the river. The hotel is in a good location if you want to be central and walk into town. It is quite an expensive hotel but then so is the Radisson on the other side of town.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Riverside area are better and those on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

when enquiring about booking a room in this hotel the staff on the reception were very rude and blunt with us, the hotel itself is lovely yet staff not so much. nothing to complain about apart from the staff on the front desk!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiewoodx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read that you felt our Front Desk team had responded to your enquiry in a rude and blunt manner as I know they take pride in ensuring all our guests receive excellent service.
I do hope that your experience on this occasion will not deter you from visiting us again in the near future.
Warm regards
Des Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Property: Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner from the Source Grill menu featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in the Durham Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing