We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

A hotel that could easily be better.
Located in a small town in which shops close at 5pm!?
Still at walking distance from everything as the town is pretty small.
Internet is 15£ and takes time to connect the first time, should have been free.
Had some issues with the toilet flusher not flushing properly.
Annoying English sinks with separate hot and cold faucets.
The cleaning person did very little effort in the room, not bothering to tidy up enough or fold clothes.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amrotefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,034 - 1,040 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed for one night whilst there on business. Friendly and helpful staff on arrival and check out, lovely room and excellent breakfast. The location is ideal, very central. The room was well presented and very clean. Overall no complaints. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Following an expensive but mediocre lunch for my mum we were horrified to receive a parking ticket for £100 , through the post some time later. We saw no signs, no member of staff mentioned the changes to parking and we were paying to eat there. DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL until they become more honest and upfront about the new money making scam in their car park. Disgrace.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank UKcmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have just returned from my first time visiting the Marriott and I definitley wont be returning. On check in the lady wasnt very nice, didnt wish us a nice time or anything. Told us to get the lift to the second floor which was out of order and has been for quite some time according to previous reviews. A gentleman had came down to ask for a european plug to which a member of staff was very abrupt saying they dont stock them. In our room the quilt cover was stained with curry? The surfaces were dusty and the water was undrinkable. When leaving the hotel to go for a cigarette, not one member of staff acknowledged us. Breakfast was tasteless however, the restaurant staff were very pleasant. When we were checking out the gentleman didnt even ask if we'd had a nice time, was more concerned about getting the 5 pound for the overnight parking. Pool was lovely and leisure staff were very nice. For a hotel that charges almost £100 a night we had expected so much more. Will not be returning!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinel91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was the second time in two years that I have stayed here and the experience this time was every bit as good as the first. Stayed for a week while attending a major national sports event and found the hotel to be an excellent base.
Room, although on the small side, was excellent and close to reception and had all the usual things expected in a hotel of this stature.
Breakfasts were excellent in the buffet service restaurant.
Bar prices and evening meal costs can be a bit excessive but there are plenty of restaurants and pubs close by.
Overall an excellent hotel with good facilities and very handy for sightseeing in Durham.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJD_Erskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is based ideally near the centre of Durham just walk across the road and you are there.

Staff were friendly and help full, food was of the standard Marriott faire but the hotel is ready for some refurbishment which has already started with the restaurant. The place could do with some new carpets in the hall and the bar is ready for an upgrade.

I was offered an upgrade and a glass of wine as a Marriott member, yes the tea and coffee try have become smaller but this is a general hotel issue in the current environment.

Breakfast was good and eggs were cooked to order which is a plus in a hotel.

My main reason for not giving 5 stars are the small points above and the change in the Menu's both in the bar and in the restaurant. These have become more Marriott and not as individual as it was the last time I visited this hotel.

All this said I will return.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SmilerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our third visit to this hotel and boy how it has changed in the last year or so. Having had a lovely experience previously we did nt read trip advisor before booking.(Wont make that mistake again). We had a quick check in but were not offered a glass of wine or upgraded like other guests despite being Marriott Reward Members.
oUr rooms were spacious but a little tired. The tea tray was sparse with the cheapest quality biscuits we have ever had in a Marriott. This should have been a warning to us about the food. The chef has gone for cheap rather than quality and breakfast was a poor offering. OK all the essentials were there on the buffet but it was not very tasty fare. The black pudding in particular was rather a strange flavour and the coffee weak.
The service was ok but not wonderful and I agree with previous comments, not at all what you would expect from this hotel. Some of the staff need to be a bit more careful with their appearance. They shold take a look at Finbarrs excellent staff and food.
The Leisure club also needs upgrading. Poor changing rooms with only two showers and again very poor quality shampoos etc. The spin drier was broken. The fun shower and one of the showers by the pool didnt work. Light bulbs out in the steam room. All these things matter but no one seemed bothered.
I agree we should not be asked to pay for parking especially now the standard of the hotel has dropped. We will not be returning. Have been told by locals that Raddisson is the best in town and even the Premier Inn is better than this dump.

Room Tip: Cross the river to the Premier Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ampletum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,177 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
552 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $81 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner, featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in The Brew Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing