We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We regularly stay here for trips to the Stadium of Light, you recieve a warm friendly welcome, comfortable clean bed and room , food is good, excellent service, your stay can be enjoyed in pleasant quiet surroundings on the banks of the Wear.
Durham is a must do in your lifetime, lots of places of interest to visit in the close and not too distant surrounding areas.
We will be returning in the near future with more to follow.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IPQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,092 - 1,098 of 1,547 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stay at Marriotts on business, this time it was for pleasure. Very disappointed that the closure of the swimming pool, parts of the spa and the restaurant were not advertised, good job we were not on a gourmet spa break! We we offered the smallest room in the hotel ovelooking the car park via a hankerchief sized window. We were moved to a larger room for our three night stay. Ate in the restaurant (the brasserie was functioning as the main eating area while the works on the old restaurant were ongoing) which was disappointing. The newspaper we ordered for the morning did not come, the plumbing, creaky floors and the ventilation system all proved to be very noisy. The hotel does have a great location though. Good car park!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Lucianchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Hotel is in an amazing position for enjoying the supreme delights of this extraordinary City - wonderful experience
Rooms and Service - very good
Breakfast - excellent
Staff - excellent

Remarkable and inappropriate focus on parking - I understand the challenge - close to the centre but why should the Guests be penalised for the location ?????? Two star thinking combined with 4* experience!! Result - unfair penalty on guests - please review!!

Room Tip: The staff are excellent - approach them and discuss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed recently and service excellent, room OK but starting to show it's age here and there (broken tiles etc). Bed really comfortable and good breakfast. Only down side was the pool was closed and they were refurbishing the restaurant otherwise would have scored higher.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank NickAAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you have a spa day booked, DO NOT GO! The Marriott will cease trading with Spa Tranquility from 14 November. My friend and I booked a spa day and everything was confirmed two days beforehand but when we arrived the receptionist told us there were no therapists available but we were welcome to use the facilities, which consisted of the jacuzzi, steam room and gym - the pool was not available as there was a problem with the heating boiler! Obviously we declined as we had planned a relaxing spa day away from work etc (and had paid for one other spa day also!). The receptionist informed us we could leave the car in the hotel car park as we decided to not waste the day and go into the town centre. We got the impression from the receptionist that there were problems associated with the company, Spa Tranquility, and he had to turn other people away. We went back to the hotel and spoke with the Duty Manager who tried to contact someone from Spa Transquility but there was no reply (I had also done this at reception but left messages on both a landline and mobile number for the spa). The Duty Manager called us later in the day to let us know she had not been able to contact anyone but the hotel would cease trading with spa transquility form 14 November. We returned to the car later and called into reception to see if there had been any further developments or contact with spa tranquility. There were several staff around reception and I expressed my dissatisfaction with the way in which the hotel had dealt with the situation but was told the spa and the hotel are different companies but this does not excuse the fact that the hotel could have let us know there were problems occurring and as the pool was unavailable, spa visitors could have been informed by the hotel also. Why have a sign outside of the spa with "Marriott Durham Royal County Leisure Club" and not accept any responsibility for the staff and companies they employ in the spa? As this was a Living Social deal I have contacted them in order to get a refund and have outlined the circumstances.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank kaznorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were welcomed with a glass of chilled white wine and canapes which was very nice. Nicely furnished rooms and very comfortable beds. Breakfast was just o.k and a bit chaotic. Negatives were the chambermaids rustling plastic bags in the corridor from 7.a.m and then chatting loudly outside our door. No chance of a lie in even though it was Sunday. Also it would have been nice to have a bottle of water in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet rooms facing the river. Durham can be noisy on a Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I didn't get to spend a lot of hours in this hotel, so I can't say a lot. I had tried to stay in another city but ended up going to Durham at the last minute. They were sold out but had some no shows, so accommodated me which was nice of them.

The parking is not all that expensive and is in what is probably the courtyard of the hotel. It is an expansive old building with a lot of hallways and corridors. You can either think of it as cumbersome or interesting...I choose "interesting". I had checked in so late but ended up taking a walk..lots of interestingt buildings at night and many people out.

The hotel has thick curtains so you can probably isolate yourself from the street noise if you like. I had the window open and was enjoying the air. I didn't use the internet since I had a sim card, so can't comment on that. However, the desk was nice, the bed was comfortable.

The hotel was sold out for a conference, or I would have stayed a second night and would therefore have a more extensive review.

Got to talk with the sales manager the next morning, as she was the manager on staff. A delightful woman to talk to actually.

Room Tip: I would say just ask them what's the best they can give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guy_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Durham
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $102 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic city of Durham, this hotel – part of which dates back to circa 1630 – boasts views of Durham Cathedral and Castle and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. The Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County is ideally located within this University city, a short walk away from the world famous Cathedral and Castle. Through Durham’s cobbled streets, explore this unique city’s blend of old and new with shops, bars and restaurants to suit all. No 59 Old Elvet restaurant serves a full buffet breakfast with a choice of a la carte options, along with dinner, featuring Chef’s unique signature dishes. Afternoon Tea is served daily and a glass of Champagne can be added for an extra special touch. Later in the day choose from an extensive range of classic and contemporary cocktails in The Brew Bar. Alternatively our Starbucks store, situated on the ground floor of the hotel, serves a wide variety of teas, coffees, sandwiches and pastries throughout the day. Relax with a visit to the hotel’s leisure centre, complete with indoor swimming pool, gym, spa bath, sauna and steam room. The hotel is also ideally located for exploring the north east and its surrounding areas. Just 15 miles (24 km) from the centre of Newcastle and 11 miles (18 km) from Sunderland. Other local attractions include: Beamish – The Living Museum of the North, The Bowes Museum, High Force Waterfall and Durham Adventure Valley to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing