We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ramside Hall Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ramside Hall Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Spent four wonderful nights here visiting Durham, Beamish museum and Bishop Aukland Castle.

No need to venture out in the evenings for a bite. As the hotel catered for most taste in the way of food.

The room was lovely and large and well made-up each day.

The Team around the hotel could not have looked after our need better.

A memorable first stay and well done to all.

David and Miranda from Bournemouth

Room Tip: Ask for a large room facing the golf course or rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
David thank you for your comments and 5 start review and hope to see you both in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,182
    517
    175
    80
    63
See reviews for
324
832
37
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed after a friends wedding. If you're at a wedding then you should get a slightly discounted room.
I've stayed a few times after various functions and the hotel is nice but I wouldn't go any further.
The rooms I feel are slightly overpriced but it's nice as a treat.
Don't bother with the room service. We paid £20 for the driest sandwiches I had ever had and we couldn't eat them. I wouldn't be surprised if they were taken straight from the Buffett from 5 hours before.
It is a very beautiful hotel, bathroom was gorgeous and opulent, room was large however we had a four poster, this was only because no normal doubles were left at the time of booking.
Breakfast was lovely and self serve full English. You could have something else if you wanted to order
The ramside is exactly what you would expect really. Just wish they charged a bit less!
I will say however drinks are very very overpriced. We were drinking soft drinks for best part of the day and still managed to spend nearly £180 between us!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mems1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your comments and can i say that we would not have used sandwiches from a previous buffet. We also check our prices on a regular basis with other 4 star hotels on both room rates and bar prices. Once again thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed here on Tuesday night (after a wedding). The rooms are lovely and such a fab view. They have such comfy beds...and lots of tea and coffee. They actually state that more can be supplied...even fruit!

I enjoyed the wedding and they even catered for a vegan like me...thank you. The staff were very helpful, even getting us into the room early...which was so helpful as we had to get ready for the wedding. The staff were helpful throughout and I just thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Thank you Ramside

Room Tip: We overlooked the front and it was just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your review and comments and hope to see you again in the future, look out for our new Spa opening early 2015
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

A nice hotel, will be even better when the building and refurbishment is complete
Stayed for two night to attend a graduation in Sunderland
Good access to both Sunderland and Durham.
Plenty of choice for restaurant in the hotel although breakfast was poor quality for the price.
Room was good size

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank McHugh1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your review and sorry to hear your comments on our breakfast as we normally receive good feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were there for a graduation. It felt like they were too busy with other things to pay proper attention to their guests. Our daughter had to ask to move rooms twice due to the school proms and they were rather unsympathetic! The room was musty although comfortable. Top marks though for their response to earrings left behind and getting them back to us.

Room Tip: Be careful....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrewsbury1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Attended a wedding on the 8th July 2014. Had a fantastic day so impressed with the high leval of customer service from the staff. Food was excellent and all the guests had a great day.
We stayed in a four poster bedroom and it exceeded our expertations the room was huge and the bathroom luxurious. All in all a great stay a lovely hotel with a friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: recommend 4 poster rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn504186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your review and hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Had a short overnight stay for a wedding function and what a delightful stay . Check in was very smooth, staff were excellent and very friendly . Room was a good size and we overlooked the golf course so very scenic .
Function room was large and spacious and decorated to a very high standard . We had a brilliant night and slept very well........ not sure if this was down to how comfortable the beds were or off the alcohol but overall a lovely stay and would definitely return .

Room Tip: Ones facing the golf course and not the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Ramside Hall and for taking the time to share your views and write a review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ramside Hall in the near future for another stay. Be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and offers and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing