We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed here on Tuesday night (after a wedding). The rooms are lovely and such a fab view. They have such comfy beds...and lots of tea and coffee. They actually state that more can be supplied...even fruit!

I enjoyed the wedding and they even catered for a vegan like me...thank you. The staff were very helpful, even getting us into the room early...which was so helpful as we had to get ready for the wedding. The staff were helpful throughout and I just thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Thank you Ramside

Room Tip: We overlooked the front and it was just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your review and comments and hope to see you again in the future, look out for our new Spa opening early 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,666 - 1,672 of 2,434 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

A nice hotel, will be even better when the building and refurbishment is complete
Stayed for two night to attend a graduation in Sunderland
Good access to both Sunderland and Durham.
Plenty of choice for restaurant in the hotel although breakfast was poor quality for the price.
Room was good size

Stayed: July 2014
Thank McHugh1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your review and sorry to hear your comments on our breakfast as we normally receive good feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were there for a graduation. It felt like they were too busy with other things to pay proper attention to their guests. Our daughter had to ask to move rooms twice due to the school proms and they were rather unsympathetic! The room was musty although comfortable. Top marks though for their response to earrings left behind and getting them back to us.

Room Tip: Be careful....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrewsbury1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Attended a wedding on the 8th July 2014. Had a fantastic day so impressed with the high leval of customer service from the staff. Food was excellent and all the guests had a great day.
We stayed in a four poster bedroom and it exceeded our expertations the room was huge and the bathroom luxurious. All in all a great stay a lovely hotel with a friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: recommend 4 poster rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carolyn504186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your review and hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Had a short overnight stay for a wedding function and what a delightful stay . Check in was very smooth, staff were excellent and very friendly . Room was a good size and we overlooked the golf course so very scenic .
Function room was large and spacious and decorated to a very high standard . We had a brilliant night and slept very well........ not sure if this was down to how comfortable the beds were or off the alcohol but overall a lovely stay and would definitely return .

Room Tip: Ones facing the golf course and not the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jones1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for staying with us at Ramside Hall and for taking the time to share your views and write a review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ramside Hall in the near future for another stay. Be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and offers and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very well appointed rooms with high standard of fit-out at very reasonable price. Located approximately 3 kilometres from city centre but a park and ride station with bus into centre is within walking distance. Restaurant and bistro located within the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room with outlook to gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greentoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your comments and 5 star review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before and as our son was graduating from Durham University we decided to stay there again. From the initial enquiry to the checking in we had no problems at all. The 3 rooms allocated were all fantastic. On the first night, at about 6pm, we made our way to the bar for a drink before going out to eat. We went to the bar and positioned ourselves at one end only to be told by the barman that the "spot was reserved for a local regular" We refused to move as it was near to a table where the rest of the party was sitting. The barman eventually served us with a rude/surly attitude and not a thank you for the tip we left. We had a 2nd round of drinks and again left a tip with no thanks. This one barman actually spoilt what was meant to be a celebration of our son's achievement. The following night we went to the bar and a different barman was on duty, we sat in the same place and no mention of the place being reserved
Would we stay again YES. Would we use the bar again YES if that one barman was not on duty. The breakfast was fantastic as were all other staff
The rating would have been excellent if the barman wasn't rude or surly

Room Tip: All rooms are of equal standard it doesn't matter what room you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your review and we will look into the issue with the person on the Bar. Please make yourself know to the Operations Manager Roland Richardson on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,170 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,492 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#11 of 18 in Durham
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $111 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing