We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Golf facilities only ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
HULL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Golf facilities only ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

A magnificent golf course set in Parkland with plenty of trees , sand and water to test all abilities of Golfer ... Not too long a course , the 4th Tee is up in the clouds and offers a magnificent view across the course. We played ( a group of 24 Gents ) in May after a rainy week previous but the course was dry and the Greens run true.
The signature hole , I think , will be the Par3 15th ... A 200yard hole over water to an angled Green protected by several Bunkers . It's Stroke 3 , so we all got a shot in our competition, and needed ! ( by memory, maybe slightly different, but near enough )1

Enjoy , take a few Balls .
A lovely Clubhouse with a good variety of food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich4Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Ramside Hall and for taking the time to share your views and write a review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and golf. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramside Hall in the near future for another golfing stay and be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,183
    517
    175
    80
    63
See reviews for
324
833
37
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed for three night in June 2014. Very nice room overlooking the golf course. Staff were friendly and polite. Tried the carvery on the first evening and wasn't to impress a little dry. The other evening I had the curry and then fish and chips both were very good. Breakfast is buffet style which I don't like but there was an excellent selection of breads and cereals etc, the staff will prepare different eggs if you ask. Overall it is a very nice hotel and I would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Ramside Hall and for taking the time to share your views and write a review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ramside Hall in the near future for another stay and be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Arrived late to a lovely friendly welcome. Bedroom spacious and very comfy. Only issues were soft pillows and a broken kettle so I couldn't make a cuppa at 6am. Breakfast was as good as previously reviewed especially the scrambled egg.
All staff very friendly and helpful.food very good and prompt check out
Only main issue was the sight of the building works from my bedroom window,others in our party had fabulous views at the rear of the hotel so guess I was unlucky.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Ramside Hall and for taking the time to share your views and write a review.

We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ramside Hall in the near future for another stay. Be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titchfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
426 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on business and it was so much better than the usual anonymous business hotels.
Rooms are lovely and the carvery and breakfast food was also of a high class with a great variety to choose from.
I understand they're building a huge pool and spa facility - such a shame it wasn't open when I stayed as I'd have thought it standard considering the quality of the hotel. I'll just have to go back in May 2015!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank maddiePortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Ramside Hall and for taking the time to share your views and write a review.

We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ramside Hall in the near future for another stay. Be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were on a short break with a tour company. Our deluxe room was fine if rather stuffy at night. Despite having the window open there was no flow of air. On arrival we were simply given our room cards and told where to find the room. No offer of porterage and no introduction to the room. Some of our group were very elderly and would have benefited from more help. Dinner was served in the carvery which was a gloomy, noisy place. There were TWO televisions in the area allocated to our group. Tables were tiny for four people, not made any easier by staff slow to clear after courses. The food was dire. Overdone beef sliced by a sullen woman who seemed to have no idea. Thick and thin slices. Vegs were overcooked and tasteless. And the area was like an obstacle course, quite unsuitable for elderly, infirm people to carry hot food.We gave up after one night and headed for the hotel's Rib restaurant which was excellent. Weddings on Saturday were noisy in the evening and night and, we were told, created queues at the carvery. Breakfast service was basic, tables only partially laid and it seemed to be understaffed with things piling up on our table.An average hotel, busy and surprisingly impersonal except in The Rib Steakhouse. See my separate review.

Room Tip: Avoid the carvery. Deluxe rooms are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mainwearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your review and we have taken the points up with the tour guide
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night on a business conference. Fantastic hotel very comfortable. Golf course adjacent and swimming pool with spa being built at the moment. Easy check in, loads of parking, room available immediately on my arrival. Large hotel but feels homely. Plenty of room to lose yourself in work if need be. Full wifi throughout. Two pints of Castle Eden real ale in the Pemberton bar plus a superb beef sandwich from the ever open buffet comprised my late lunch.
Buffet meals are available throughout the day and they are of excellent quality.
Taxi from Durham railway station to the hotel £7. Breakfast buffet had everything needed to get a good start on the day and again taken in the Pemberton suite. Cannot fault this hotel in any way and worth the journey just outside of the City.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor with no one above me so that helped to avoid the usual herd of wildebeeste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emeraldcassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Ramside Hall and for taking the time to share your views and write a review.

We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ramside Hall in the near future for another stay. Be sure to keep an eye on our website for all of our special promotions and offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing