We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

excellent staff, lovely room and spacious, carvery average, breakfast very good, the food in the restaurant was very good but choices were limited.we had a problem with bathroom plumbing in the middle of the night, they were straight there, switched rooms sorted problem and switched us back all with minimal fuss. so thanks and apologies to all concerned

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericthered-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your review and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,680 - 1,686 of 2,392 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Very enjoyable stay, happy with everything, the golf was good, rooms were nice, staff great, cooked breakfast was lovely, good range and quality products. Also I must say I was very impressed with how the hotel duty manager Tim dealt with everything for us when called upon to solve a problem we had. Will be revisiting, and look forward to seeing the exciting development plans complete next year.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank JamesSegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your review and rating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

i've been visiting Ramside Hall Hotel for over 20 years, in that time i have seen the hotel get better and better.
If you like the certainty of chain hotels then this place might not be for you.
This is a bygone era hotel where rooms are individually decorated and have a charm that no longer exists in the modern chains.
We stayed there a month or so ago and had a couple of issues (which were outside of the hotels control) and the OP's Manager dealt with brilliantly
Yes there's things that could be better-Reception staff were rude and obnoxious on booking and seem to be quite curt most of the time (more so on the phone than face to face)
Asking for the last 3 digits on the back of my card was unusual and unnecessary even more so when the room was a complimentary night from the hotel manager!
The rooms are tasteful and their attention to detail is very good. Nice tea/coffee etc and mineral waters.
We ate in the restaurant (see seperate review) and enjoyed the lovely bar (top quality assortment of whisky and Brandy) and the breakfast was excellent with a vast menu to suit everyone.
The hotel is currently building a huge extension which will give them loads more rooms and a top class spa and pool (desperately needed now i think) and my only hope is that this won't inflate the prices dramatically or make them too corporate.
All in All this is a fabulous hotel with a great management team.
Go - Enjoy.

Room Tip: try and ovelook the gardens / golf course rather than the car park, but in all honesty they're a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joynesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Despite the poor weather, we had a lovely weekend, we arrived at the ramside hotel on Friday 25th April, and were welcomed at reception by Suzanne and Victoria, who were both very helpful and nothing was to much trouble, and able to have a laugh and joke, two lovely ladies,. Our room was spacious and very clean, with lovely views over the gardens. The carvery was excellent, and the Buffett breakfast had a vast range for every taste, we stayed at this particular hotel to play golf, the course was reasonably tough but a good challenge, and well maintained, lots to do in and around Durham, and I will look forward to returning in the near future, thanks to all for lovely and relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 218, great views of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for your review and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the ramside twice using the stay and dine for £99. Superb value, beautiful hotel and very helpful staff. Our meal in the rib room was delicious, lovely menu with lots of choice. I can't wait for the spa to be finished then it will be 5/5.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metalbot79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for your review and Spa will be ready early 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Not a good hotel, and I very much doubt it's the best in Durham (or more precisely, outside Durham). Décor very tired, and very little investment in the hotel - wireless coverage very patchy for example. Top tip - book dinner as part of your reservation, otherwise the choice is between the very expensive Rib Restaurant or the pretty cheap carvery.

My "superior" room was a very decent size, but not superior in any other way, the bed was soft, the bathroom extractor fan ineffective and some clever electronics turn the bathroom light off if you sit still.

Little attention to customer needs - no skimmed milk anywhere in the hotel, for example, and no crisps or nuts at the bar.

And no obvious interest in customer feedback. I said all this on the hotel's feedback form, perhaps expecting an email in reply. Not yet anyway!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike6401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for your comments and we have very good comments on the hotel and the bedroom decor we are sorry if this was not to your taste. We have and are still investing in our hotel with the bedrooms and public areas as well as our new health club and spa. We will take your other comments onboard and will pass on to all concerned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were married at and had our day and evening reception at the Ramside Hall Hotel on 11th April. We would like to thank the wedding team and all of the staff involved who helped with all the arrangements and ensured we and our family and friends had a wonderful day and evening. Patrick (Paddy) was tremendous and seemed to be there exactly when he was needed. Tim was on hand to ensure we were all looked after to the highest standard. The food and drinks were lovely and the evening entertainment had everyone dancing the night away. Our room was beautiful with a fabulous stand alone bath, very romantic. We can't thank you enough for making out special day so memorable and precious. We can highly recommend this hotel and their team to make your wedding day very special x.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are really lovely for that special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for your comments and will pass on to all concerned. We wish you a long and happy life together

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,140 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,462 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
21.9 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $113 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing