We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton On Tees
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate my wife's birthday and asked for a quiet four poster room. When we arrived the reception was extremely busy but due to the efficient receptionists we were quickly booked into the hotel. Our room 316 was on the ground floor at the end of the corridor on the opposite side to the bar and restaurants and the patio doors opened directly onto the golf course so it was very quiet and private.

The room itself was very spacious, spotlessly clean and complete with coffee/tea making facilities, bottled water, biscuits and good quality toiletries. At the entrance end of the room there was a big modern bathroom with separate shower and dual hand basins and at the opposite end of the room a lounge area with a sofa and coffee table. The four poster was central with plenty of room to move around and was extremely comfortable. The décor was modern with plenty of lamps around the room.

The hotel in general had a very nice ambience and the restaurant which we choose was really nice. The service and the food were excellent (presentation and taste) and the choice varied. We opted for the two 8oz steaks with a free bottle of wine offer which cost a reasonable £32. For starters we chose local crab and tempura prawns which were delicious.

Breakfast, which is taken in the carvery restaurant, was a buffet style breakfast and was again excellent with a choice of cereals, fruit, breads and cooked traditional food i.e. eggs, bacon, mushrooms, sausages etc.....all very fresh.

The final checkout was again efficiently handled and we left as very satisfied customers.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the restaurant areas 316 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,252
    538
    184
    83
    64
See reviews for
344
887
38
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed for a 2 night break with our 2 small children. staff were hospitable, we had a family room which was spacious enough, clean and comfortable.
the highlight of the stay was dining at the Rib Room- the Chateaubriand was absolutely amazing. we stayed on a dinner allowance package so the £60 for 2 was very reasonable and the portions were plentiful!
the breakfast was varied and enjoyable. the lounges and bar area was pleasant and comfortable.
the lounge with fire place with complimentary tea and coffee was lovely too. very close to drive to Durham centre and beamish.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tehdeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

I am delighted to read how pleased you were with all aspects of your stay and that you had the opportunity to dine in our Rib Room restaurant while you were with us.

I would like to thank you for your custom and hope that we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Tim Boyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This has to be the very best hotel we have ever stayed in.
Staff very excellent in all departments.
Hotel was spotless clean, four poster room was amazing.
The food again was brilliant.

The only fault I found with this hotel was the price of a pint at £4.30 for large, a tad expensive but saying that, your paying for the surroundings and again its is amazing.

We will definitely be back!.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitor227059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club for your recent overnight stay.

I am delighted to read how pleased you were with all aspects of your stay and hope that you will consider choosing us again when booking hotel accommodation in the Durham area.

We look forward to seeing you at our hotel again very soon.

Tim Boyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at the Ramside Hall Hotel late in December and we were very happy with the feel of the place. It was relaxed and comfortable and the staff very pleasant and helpful.
Our room was very nice and well appointed, breakfast was very well presented and very enjoyable.

I will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjcrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club in December.

We are always pleased to read how happy our guests are with their stay and you can be assured that your comments are shared with the team.

We hope to see you back again very soon.

Tim Boyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Arriving on New Years Eve for our 2 night stay, we were joined by 2 fabulous friends, their 1st stay but our 3rd. Very efficient reception staff, found our rooms on 3rd floor very good, spotless and spacious. We had afternoon tea, the cakes, tea and coffee where fab but served by a very frosty waitress! but we were not put off as we moved into the bar for drinks, the bartender and manager there was fab. The Gala on the evening was fantastic from the starter, the buffet main course of which were different meats, spiced dishes, fish and seafood, deserts and the cheese table, all of which were servced by very efficient and helpfull staff, the Head Chef (Graham) who was carving the beef, was very helpful indeed, every single course was fabulous. Then we had the entertainment which was fantastic. The waiters/waitresses were very good, nothing was at all a bother for them. The meal in the Rib Room on the New Years Day evening was also excellent, it just finished our 2 days at Ramside Hall off with a flourish. The breakfast on both mornings were very nice, although on the first morning we were not offered a 'bloody mary' that was on the menu! As you can probably guess our 2 companies were bowled our by this New Years event and YES we will also be booking again for this years Gala. Fabulous.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orchid960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club for your New Year celebrations.

Whilst I am delighted to read how pleased you were with all aspects of the event including Rib Room dining on New Year's Day, I would like to express my apologies that a member of our team had not entered into the spirit of New Year during your afternoon tea service.

I look forward to your return visit to our hotel in the very near future.

Tim Boyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We got married at this hotel and I have no hesitation in saying how great it is. The catering was fabulous and the room (suite) we were given was the best I have ever stayed in and I have been to many hotels around the world. It was spacious and had all the luxuries of a 5 star hotel, yet this hotel is 4 star. Staff are very friendly and anyone wishing to eat out can spend the evening in the Rib Room and have a great steak or any other food from an extensive menu. We liked it so much, we have stayed there a couple of times since. They regularly have cut price weekends on and they are well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Get a room that has a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimHolborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for choosing Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club - we are delighted to have you back!

We are always so pleased to read how much our customers have enjoyed their stay, particularly when they have had the opportunity to stay with us before and please be assured that your comments will be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramside Hall very soon.

Tim Boyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We can highly recommend , family, corporate , mini break, add Ramside Hall places to stay.
We attended the Gala Ball on New Year's Eve , not to be disappointed , arriving at the venue, the trees which line the drive were tastefully decorated with an abundance of magical clear sparkling lights,
Upon entering the Black Tie event in the Ornate Ball room , (a fantastic venue for wedding, Party) you could not miss the magnificent centre piece for the champagne & cocktails upon arrival, a unique ice sculpture surrounded by Silver top hat ice buckets, which impressed everyone and gave all a topic of conversation. The rest of the room look very nice and In keeping with the event.
The service was very well orchestrated impressive & efficient managers Tim , Paul and their team Ensured that all guests received nothing other than a perfection ,exceptional !!!
The choice of top class food was astounding, beef, lamb, pork, lobster, oyster, king prawn , curry, , salad deserts that's just what I could remember , catering for everyone's dietary requirements.
We were entertained , by sensational male vocalist Jerome also a Vegas cabaret show and a disco.

Ramside Hall professional family run business, with passion and attention to detail in order to be the BEST is very apparent.

Fantastic evening, would highly recommend all !!!!!!!!!!!!

What better way to see in 2014

THANK YOU ALL HAPPY NEW YEAR
Andrew,Calvin & Family
booked for 31/12/2014

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew-Bennett37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your very generous review of the New Year's Eve Gala Ball - we are always delighted to see you at Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

Your lovely comments will be shared with the team who worked so hard over the Christmas and New Year festive season to ensure that everyone had a fabulous experience at our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you back again very soon.

Tim Boyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing