We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in the Country” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in the Country”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Was forced to stay at this hotel as my usual hotel in Durhan city centre was already fully booked.

How fortunate that turned out to be ! This hotel is a little gem, with magnificent rooms overlooking the manicured gardens and golf course.

Has a lovely country hotel atmosphere, ideal for a romantic break, just a few miles outside Durham.

Food and service was very friendly and fist class, and would not hesitate to stay here as my hotel of first choice again when next in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit and hope that will not hesitate in choosing our hotel when you are next in the area

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,181
    516
    177
    80
    63
See reviews for
324
832
37
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Everything was excellent - check in was friendly and efficient - room was spacious and beautifully presented with outlook over the gardens - Requested fresh milk and it was sent to the room before the kettle had boiled!! Ate in the carvery which was very nice and had several choices. All staff were excellent definitely service with a smile. Would love to go back for a weekend break.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit and hope that will not hesitate in choosing our hotel when you are next in the area

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Although only a couple of miles from the centre of Durham, Ramside Hall Hotel is quietly situated.
Checking in was easy and the reception staff made me feel most welcome. My room, although only about 20 yards from Reception, was very quiet. It was spacious,clean and well-furnished. Bathroom was very good but the automatic light took a while to switch off if you used the loo in the middle of the night!
Breakfast was very good and very varied.
Parking could be an issue if there was an 'event' in the hotel or golf club.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MilsteadUmpire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the 6th & 7th May 2013 - room 306. It was a birthday treat from my wife.
We found the hotel to be extremely tired looking, in desperate need of a refit. On arrival the receptionist was very polite, we were asked to pay our bill in FULL as it was their policy.
we arrived in our room to find it to be very middle of the road and nothing special (It could have been a Travel Lodge room) I did not say anything because it was a treat from my wife.
We had a patio door to the out side, it would not open properly. All of the double glazing had popped so we could not see through it, when we did get outside the door step and frame was covered in dirt, it had never been cleaned.
On our first night there was a plastic waist pipe sticking out of the roof, there was water constantly running out of it all night keeping us awake.
On the second night about 1am there was a disgusting smell coming from the bathroom it smelt like raw sewerage. This was all night, we were glad to go home for some sleep.
The one very good point of this hotel was the restaurant, we eat in there for the two nights. The service was fantastic, the food was excellent, can recommend it. It is a great shame the rest of the hotel is not of the same high standard.
When we were checking out my wife went to the car, I informed the receptionist of my concerns, I might as well have told one of the statues in the area. There was no interest at all in customer feed back, maybe they are just use to dealing with coach loads of people. We heard a far people saying how bad it was there, we will never return again.

Room Tip: From what we could see there was not any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mashamduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Huge bed and bath which are both things I look for, the rooms were large but stuffy and hot and the bar was pricey and there was no fresh fruit in the room as advertised but overall it's a lovely hotel with lovely views

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit and hope that will not hesitate in choosing our hotel when you are next in the area

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

food was very nice and not expensive but the drinks are a little overpricedso what they lost on the food they made up on the bar bill but the service is excelant so no complaints here the golf course is quite good also

Room Tip: take your own drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit and hope that will not hesitate in choosing our hotel when you are next in the area

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

reception staff very friendly rooms excellant everything you need fantastic bath great after a day sightseeing bar area well thought out relaxing had a evening meal a bit on the expensive side i had the burger not worth the price dissapointed with the meal had breakfast it had the best choice of fruits of any hotel i have ever stayed in including london the cooked breakfast was average only sorry they had no marmalade for my excellant brown toast i would recommend this hotel to anybody

Room Tip: ask for a patio room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank carole b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit and hope that will not hesitate in choosing our hotel when you are next in the area

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing