We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed here with my husband after a friends recommendation had a fantastic time at ramside, food superb and staff could not do enough for us! Perfect location for a romantic night away!! We will be back! Thank you so much!!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,340)
There are newer reviews for Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,005 - 2,011 of 2,342 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

We recently visited Ramside Hall in Durham, It was a tribute act night with a hot buffet meal. The staff were very freindly, the food was piping hot and delicious and the entertainment second to none. Will be definately going again soon x

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from an overnight valentine treat at ramside hall. We stayed in a 4 poster deluxe room which was superb(room331) Refurbished bathroom is amazing.great meal at the carvery and breakfast also first class with plenty of choice.staff all very polite and efficient.highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trishndave4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This Hotel is beautifully decorated in all the various lounges and dining rooms The staff are polite and helpful - Stayed in ground floor rooms 206 and 208 which were both of good size, being able to easily fit baby cot (supplied) in one . The beds huge and very comfortable and the bathrooms spotlessly clean . French doors opened up to the garden area and would be lovely to sit out in in warm weather - Only down side rooms were very hot over night, even though we turned the heating off, actually opened the french doors at one time during night to let some cool air in - madness in UK in Feb !! perhaps a fan might have helped ??
The carvery (as I have favourably reviewed in the past )is good value and has a relaxing atmosphere and breakfast served also served in this area is plentiful and the choices excellent. Would thoroughly recommend the Hotel - check out the deals on prices -for best value - this Hotel as only 5 minute drive form Durham City centre - not only for golfers - will stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Having stayed at Lumley Castle, we were expecting a pleasant evening with good food. Our expectations were far exceeded.
Thoroughly recommend at any level, stay over or just go for the restaurant. Amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 315Chris_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for posting a review of your visit to Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are delighted to read your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again very soon.

Tim Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here as i was attending an awards dinner. My room was large, clean and had the best bed I have ever slept in. The shower was powerful and the staff friendly and efficient. Location is minutes from the A1. My only regret was not bringing my golf clubs as the course looks great.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Muna1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for posting a review of your visit to Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are delighted to read your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again very soon.

Tim Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have stayed at the Ramside Hall twice in the last month on business. The whole place has a spacious feel, extending to the bedrooms. On both stays I have had a superior room booked on a deal through Booking.Com. Huge room, LCD telly, good free wi-fi and big comfortable bed. I have dined in the carvery on both occasions purely for time and laziness purposes. Again plenty of room, average food (not a carvery fan anyway), but good bar (with a couple of real ales) and decent staff. I will stay again when back in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinHemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

We are delighted that you have chosen to return to us again and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,117 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,427 reviews
21.9 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,573 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $119 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing