We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic as always!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic as always!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Another great stay at Lumley. Booked the dinner, bed and breakfast package as a birthday treat for my husband. Staff at reception lovely-upgraded our room to stay in a castle feature which was fantastic; quirky, luxurious and immaculately clean. Dinner was excellent; fast and friendly service with complimentary drinks. The Black Knight restaurant is beautiful with a great atmosphere-very romantic. Food was delicious with an array of choice. This is an exquisite hotel and something different. We will most certainly be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coopernkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    509
    271
    116
    49
See reviews for
323
1,122
23
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was by far the worse hotel I have stayed at in NE - arrived room not ready at 4pm, then had to ask for extra towels pillows etc. the walls are so thin we could hear next door talking and even snoring in the night! The toilet was stained and smelt awful! The afternoon tea was a waste of time, couldn't get staff to serve us, slow isn't even a close description - then stuff just plonked on table in relays. Staff attitudes are dire! Dinner in the restaurant was cold, served again in relays, staff didn't care, took ages to get complete meal for 4 on table! No way would I ever ever stay here again, there are far better quality hotels locally who don't charge outrageous prices in their bar! My advice - look elsewhere!

Room Tip: Avoid - staff don't care about you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazcloud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

To be honest I've stayed in nicer places at half the cost. Thankfully we had booked our room through a discount site and was pleased. We stayed in a "cosy courtyard bedroom" and cosy is about right. I do love the fact that it is within a castle but would still like me room to be well-lit and comfortable. A double room with one chair isn't exactly convenient and the lighting was dreadful, you couldn't see to read clearly for example, unless you were in bed. Speaking of the bed, I needed a little jump to get onto the mattress, I'm 5ft 5" but the mattress came up to my hips. Although not important, the biscuits that were left were unsuitable considering the hotel knew of dietary requirements. Maybe my experience is just because the courtyard rooms aren't great, maybe another room would've changed my experience. To avoid having to have good ceilings and hide wires etc they'd used these hideous curtains across the whole ceiling making the room feel quite closed in. I've reviewed the restaurant separately.

Room Tip: Avoid the courtyard unless you're not bothered about size or brightness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 540ssmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Had a great night at the murder mystery evening back in May with a nice 3 course meal. We stayed over,upgrading to a castle feature room which was funky.Food and drinks are quite expensive but worth it .Great service in the Library room by Tony who was a real nice friendly guy. Afternoon tea was too much food for us, so we settled for sandwiches which were very fresh and enjoyable..

Our only complaint was on first entering the Scarborough room for the murder mystery event, a very,very unpleasant man was ordering people to their chairs like they were cattle and the poor waitresses seemed to be dancing on hot coals. However, he wasn't around too long and we laughed the night away.

We would definitely return as loved the castle, and certainly worth the upgrade .:)

Room Tip: Upgrade when you get there to a feature room as it is cheaper than booking it in advance, and buy yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PippaDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My mum and I got this deal on a popular discount site and we thought it sounded too good to be true... It wasn't!

The staff were friendly and efficient and the castle itself hasn't been made tacky, it's really damn cool if you ask me and I'm quite particular about authenticity and anti-tackiness.
We went for an explore around and it wasn't all blocked off with 'no entry up these stairs' etc, there were some private rooms but you could go from room to room - how it was meant to be.

The restaurant: well again I'm quite fussy, but the food was very, very good indeed! I had the duck on the first night and the blue cheese stuffed fillet steak on the second. The desserts were quite spectacular and the restaurant was busy both nights (Sunday and Monday) which says something for usually unpopular nights in regular restaurants.

Great base for Durham and the rest of Northumberland.

Anyway, the whole stay was lovely and we will definitely be back with spouses in tow.

Thanks lumley castle!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahjarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were in the castle, room 60, and it was really wonderful. Huge, with seats, window couches, split levels, and a lovely trick inside the wardrobe. Heavy drapes everywhere. If you go expecting boutique modern, it isn't. but it is solid castle style, rich and opulent, Yes, there are one or two wonky bits, but, you know, it's old!! Bags of character.Dining room beautifully lit, service excellent,
Now, I really cannot fathom these complaints about the breakfast. It had all the usuals,plus 2 types of danish pastry , croissants, fresh melon, fresh pineapple etc etc.Cooked...all the obvious, plus eggs benedict with parma ham on toasted muffin, or smoked salmon with scrambled eggs or....It was great.

Room Tip: 60 is great...high up, large,fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floralMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a courtyard room. The castle is very picturesque and in a great setting. Our room was small and was very dark with v little natural light. Service was varied with great service on the first night but on the second a different story when we ended up walking out of the restaurant after waiting 30 mins for dessert service. Evening meal food is trying really hard to be fancy but puts presentation over flavour. Overall, great location and setting and can imagine it been a great location for a wedding as we heard the piper and saw the fireworks both nights. There are other places so we won't be back in a hurry

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank addy-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
4.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Property: Lumley Castle Hotel
Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing