We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful wedding, awesome accommodation, and superlative service from staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Wonderful wedding, awesome accommodation, and superlative service from staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We got married at this dream castle venue on 7 July. Everything exceeded our expectations - from the staff who couldn't do enough for you to the amazing architecture and the fabulous food. Our room was the King James Suite and the wedding breakfast was held in the Barons Hall - it was worth every penny! The decor was dark and gothic in keeping with our goth wedding. We could not have asked for more. Thanks to Andrew, Julie, Nicole, Sandra, Claire, Pamela, Stephanie, Jonny and of course last but not least, our very own Franck, Keith Stephenson. You organised everything beautifully and made sure everything went well from start to finish - we're very grateful to you and everyone else at the Castle for your help. Our guests all enjoyed exploring the Castle, and the children had a blast playing hide and seek. It truly was an amazing and unforgettable day. The wedding breakfast was superb with genrous portion sizes, and the evening buffet was even better! Nothing but compliments for the chef. All in all, my husband and I highly recommend Lumley Castle Hotel if you fancy a wedding that is different, special and out of this world. We plan to return every anniversary to relive our wonderful memories.

Room Tip: Go for a feature bedroom in the Castle - they're worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s1m0ne192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,042
    502
    268
    116
    49
See reviews for
319
1,104
23
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cullercoats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had booked a courtyard room for one night but were upgraded to a castle room on arrival. I wish we hadn't been upgraded. The only access to our room was up a medieval stone spiral staircase (it was a castle room after all). Our room was cramped, dark and gloomy - a great four-poster bed, heavy brocade curtains and a small mullioned window. No air conditioning. Not ideal for a warm summer night. To get some air we kept the window open but that meant we were kept awake till after 1.00 a.m. as we couldn't shut out the noise of music and general revelry from one of the two weddings which were on that evening. This might be really cosy in midwinter but I wouldn't stay again in the summer.

Room Tip: Stick to a courtyard room unless you want an authentic castle experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HB2981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Lovely grounds and outside views. Accommodation and internally at bit 'meh'. Needs a re-paint and tidy-up of tired fixtures and fittings. We were lodged in the courtyard (old stable block I believe). All a bit tired and tatty-ish but clean and as we had booked on a voucher deal, we sighed and thought "ah well it's to be expected" (but you always hope for better though, don't you?!).
Staff lovely and friendly, although at times a little disorganised. Messed up our newspapers order on morning one (gave it to the chap in the room opposite us apparently...we saw him reading our paper at breakfast...cheeky so and so!). Morning two we had to ask for our tickets to a local ornamental gardens (part of our deal). "Oh, weren't you given them at check-in?"...Er NO, that's why I am asking now...! Morning three... chap at reception unable at early checkout (7am) to sort out overcharge on bill so we had to pay it and then call back later in the day (once home) to deal with the problem. Was dealt with efficiently once we had called back but still....
We had fabulous weather but as there is no air conditioning we sweltered at night! Even with the windows ajar it was stuffy. Note: no iron or board in the room but tea and coffee making facilities with gorgeous free oaty biscuits (yummy).
Our room was standard double. Bed was pushed against the wall so access from one side only but very comfortable so no complaints from us once in the bed. Anyone with mobility issues might struggle with the leap from the bottom of the bed, or shuffle across it, to get in.
Food. Nice. Husband recommends the beef (not cheap but worth it he says). Vegetables extra cost. Menu doesn't change night to night. Not a vast range of vegetarian dishes. Puddings scrummy (found out that a 'Tonka bean' is something like an almond. Anyway the 'Tonka bean' pannacotta was delicious!).
You walk through from reception to the hotel's inner courtyard to get to the library (for drinks/snacks) and onto the restaurant. If the weather was inclement you'd need a brolly as you pass outside into the open air. Similarly a cardigan or something if cold (brrrrrrrr) although it's not a vast distance so you could be quick and save on the brolly/cardigan!) If you are lodged in the castle itself I don't think you have to make this trip - happy days.
Some of the female staff are dressed in (what look like curtain-material) medieval gowns - all a bit 'am-dram' but pleasant nonetheless. The men wear butler-style outfits.Strange mixture. Bit like the hotel itself in fact... strange mix in many ways but not upsettingly so. Nice in a soft, unchallenging and 'this is who I am' slightly amateur, slightly 'shirt-hanging out of my trousers' sort of air...
Parking - a bit hap-hazard and pot-luck for a space (especially if busy). Not toooooo bad, but not excellently managed.
All in all a good-ish trip. No major complaints. Food nice. Accommodation, so-so. Staff lovely people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed overnight with our young baby, we had a reduced rate via another website which was a bargain for a place like this! From arrival the staff were very attentive and helpful, nothing seemed like too much trouble. This place is stunning, from the beautiful grounds to the castle steeped in history. Our room was very comfortable, the usual mod cons were there hidden amongst a very traditional look. There are areas where the decor was a little scruffy but expect its a never ending job and in fact there was a decorater there during our stay. Its also a short walk to Riverside Park which has fantastic play areas for children and beautiful gardens to explore. We would definitely stay here again if we were visiting this area, its a special place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBrooks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked a courtyard room for my birthday but after reading some of the reviews on here I was very nervous as I didn't want to be disappointed. The room was beautiful a big four poster bed that was comfortable and a bath big enough for two. We sat in the grounds as it was a hot night drinking wine while taking in the views. It really was a night to remember. The only disappointments were we ordered a bucket of ice twice and it never arrived and the breakfast wasn't up to much but I would go back in a heartbeat I loved it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brotton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 477 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This place is beautiful, lovely surrounds and well kept areas, castle is beautiful too with lots of dark corridoors and large feature ornaments and pictures.
Excellent place for a wedding setting, would recommend, probably very pricey though

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warhol40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at Lumley Castle, the rooms were lovely, the food outstanding, the staff were more than helpful in every aspect of our stay. I would like to say an additional big thank you to Tony Gill and his team who helped me plan the perfect wedding proposal….in case you were wondering, she said said YES!!!......See you next year for our one year anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
4.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Property: Lumley Castle Hotel
Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing