We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good if there's additional rating for Hotel Environment / Structure...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I find many excellent reviews, & I do agree if its for the experience. Overall castle environment is speechless as owner had kept the structure as authentic as before. Room was pretty with adequate toiletries & bar needs.

However, I wish there were more - for instance, self-explanatory tags to intro each room / area / any historical furnitures. Or even set up more activities for visitors to spend within the castle besides the extravagant golf area. It was basically slow stroll available for non-golfers, which not much of pretty sight to explore as well.

Was surprised that bedsheet was not changed daily as I found a similar stain on a 2nd day, even after housekeeping was done.

Recep & staff were extremely helpful though & kudos to the F&B in Black Knight Restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esBONde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,701 - 1,707 of 2,194 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night as part of a package, bed and breakfast, castle room and £30 each towards the evening Meal.
The room (56) was great, service friendly and attentive, food good and overall a most enjoyable experience.
We have noticed people complaining about a number of issues including size of rooms the fact they are dark. Customers need to remember that this is a 14th century building and as such, has it's limitations. We found the rooms and lighting just added to the atmosphere and in no way interfered with our enjoyment.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My sister and I stayed on a Groupon deal at this hotel and cannot praise it highly enough, beautiful surroundings, great attention to detail, friendly and helpful staff, very clean extremely comfortable rooms, good food. We stayed in a standard courtyard room and were delighted with it, we dined in the restaurant and had a lovely evening of good food and wine in enchanting surroundings being waited on by an attentive waitress who gave us the time and space we wanted but appeared just when we needed her to. We took our drinks through to the library, which had an open fire as did the lounge next door to it. There were lots of nooks and crannies to explore and a beautiful inner courtyard to admire. We both found Lumley Castle Hotel to be beautiful and are already planning to return as soon as we can ........... the beds were so comfortable that we didn't wake up in time to go for breakfast (served until 10am!!!!) but thought it was a good trade in for the comfort and relaxation we had enjoyed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrannyAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and found the rooms excellent, the staff brilliant and the food fantastic. The room (50) was spacious, warm and unique with hidden bathroom. The food in the evening was good and the breakfast was top quality. All round a lovely night away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The family booked three rooms to celebrate my father-in-law's 80th birthday. (They last visited in the 1960s for an Elizabethan banquet!) The Courtyard rooms were comfortable and well equipped; the feature room in the castle where the in-laws stayed was fabulous - a four poster, secret bathroom and all. The place has masses of atmosphere and while perhaps it hasn't got the slick efficiency of some grand hotels, the staff are all friendly, helpful, smiley people. Yes, it is a bit chilly in places (not the bedrooms though - toasty warm in there) but it is a northern castle, centuries old. Take a cardigan. We thoroughly enjoyed excellent dinner at the Black Knight restaurant (the venison carpaccio, the lamb, which melted in the mouth, and chocolate truffle dessert were all outstanding); and breakfast is excellent too. We loved it.

Room Tip: Feature rooms are more glamourous, but courtyard rooms comfortable too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrssunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked a two night stay through Groupon for Lumley Castle. When it came to booking we were unable to stay on a Friday or Saturday night which was disappointing. If we had known about this before, we probably would have thought twice about buying it. In the end we decided to stay over Sunday and Monday night.

The castle itself is fantastic! Really enjoyed looking around the grounds and inside.

We had afternoon tea in the library which was great and a nice treat.

The evening meal in the black knights restaurant was faultless. Each course was well presented and very tasty. The meal was probably the highlight if the trip. For the main we had the signature beef fillet with port wine jus. I have to mention the desert as its one of the best I've ever had. Arriving on a granite slate we had white chocolate creme brûlée, double chocolate brownie, chocolate fondant, icecream and raspberry coulis and it was pretty impressive!

We stayed in the court yard, the room itself was small but its what we were expecting and ticked all the boxes.

I've heard the King James suite is the best so if we visit again then that will be the room we'll be going for.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyCush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight for my husbands birthday and I cannot fault anything. The room was fantastic and in immaculate condition with a large four poster bed and ornate decor. We dined in the Black Knights restaurant and the food was delicious and reasonably priced for the quality and presentation. The staff were all helpful and nothing was a bother to them at all. Even when passing them in the corridors you were greeted with a friendly smile or a cheerful hello.
Lumley Castle is a credit to its manager Christine and her dedicated, hardworking team ( especially Jill who was working at breakfast time).
You won't be disappointed in this magnificent castle- thank you so much for your hospitality . We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jms73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#12 of 18 in Durham
66 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $86 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing