We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The family booked three rooms to celebrate my father-in-law's 80th birthday. (They last visited in the 1960s for an Elizabethan banquet!) The Courtyard rooms were comfortable and well equipped; the feature room in the castle where the in-laws stayed was fabulous - a four poster, secret bathroom and all. The place has masses of atmosphere and while perhaps it hasn't got the slick efficiency of some grand hotels, the staff are all friendly, helpful, smiley people. Yes, it is a bit chilly in places (not the bedrooms though - toasty warm in there) but it is a northern castle, centuries old. Take a cardigan. We thoroughly enjoyed excellent dinner at the Black Knight restaurant (the venison carpaccio, the lamb, which melted in the mouth, and chocolate truffle dessert were all outstanding); and breakfast is excellent too. We loved it.

Room Tip: Feature rooms are more glamourous, but courtyard rooms comfortable too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrssunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,087
    522
    274
    116
    49
See reviews for
331
1,140
23
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked a two night stay through Groupon for Lumley Castle. When it came to booking we were unable to stay on a Friday or Saturday night which was disappointing. If we had known about this before, we probably would have thought twice about buying it. In the end we decided to stay over Sunday and Monday night.

The castle itself is fantastic! Really enjoyed looking around the grounds and inside.

We had afternoon tea in the library which was great and a nice treat.

The evening meal in the black knights restaurant was faultless. Each course was well presented and very tasty. The meal was probably the highlight if the trip. For the main we had the signature beef fillet with port wine jus. I have to mention the desert as its one of the best I've ever had. Arriving on a granite slate we had white chocolate creme brûlée, double chocolate brownie, chocolate fondant, icecream and raspberry coulis and it was pretty impressive!

We stayed in the court yard, the room itself was small but its what we were expecting and ticked all the boxes.

I've heard the King James suite is the best so if we visit again then that will be the room we'll be going for.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyCush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight for my husbands birthday and I cannot fault anything. The room was fantastic and in immaculate condition with a large four poster bed and ornate decor. We dined in the Black Knights restaurant and the food was delicious and reasonably priced for the quality and presentation. The staff were all helpful and nothing was a bother to them at all. Even when passing them in the corridors you were greeted with a friendly smile or a cheerful hello.
Lumley Castle is a credit to its manager Christine and her dedicated, hardworking team ( especially Jill who was working at breakfast time).
You won't be disappointed in this magnificent castle- thank you so much for your hospitality . We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jms73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed in one of the castle rooms (50). A quite large room with four poster bed and hidden en-suite. Whilst the room was nice, it was also very dark even with all of the lights on. Fortunately my wife does not need to apply too much make up, so this was not such a problem. If she had, she may have ended up looking like the joker in batman.
The reception staff were very friendly.
The restaraunt was ok. The food did not live up to expectations, given the prices being charged.
It was nice, but that was about all. Service was not fantastic,and not up to the standard you would expect from a hotel of this standing. The staff didn't seem too interested in the diners, and just plonked the food down in front of you. This was also the same at breakfast.
The hotel itself is very nice, but it was very cold throughout. I am aware that it is a castle, but I would not expect to have to wear a fleece in the hallways.
Overall a decent hotel, that may be resting on its laurels a little. We stayed in the Roxborough Hotel nr Kelso the day before and whilst there was only £6 differance between the two stays, Lumley Castle is not in the same league.

Room Tip: Room 50 is quite nice, with a hidden en-suite. Due to the decor, it is a little dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited for my dad's birthday for dinner in the black knight restaurant. The castle itself is magical and when we were shown to our table we were in the main restaurant but in a platform up 3 steps so it felt like we had privacy. The only problem we had was my dad's pheasant main course was cold and tough when it came but they replaced it no problem and the second one was tender and hot. Will visit again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJEC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Newcastle Upon Tyne. England.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a fantastic night. I've been to the Elizabethen Banquets several times and they're always very entertaining but, i'd never stayed overnight to sample the full experience. The building is so stunningly impressive both internally and externally. The staff are so friendly and you sample the atmosphere as soon as you arrive because the staff are dressed in period costumes. We upgraded as a treat and stayed in one of the feature bedrooms in the castle itself. The room was just as expected with a large four-poster bed that dominated the room. However, there were all the usual modern additions such as large flat-screen tv, wi-fi, etc and, the querky, modern bathroom where you have to enter through the middle door of the wardrobe. The Black Knight restaurant offered a menu with a large choice of very tasty foods (the duck starter and lamb main were delicious) and, the staff were attentive, polite and very knowledgeable. Again, the atmosphere was very friendly and comforting and led to a very pleasant dining experience. Breakfast offered a vast selection of buffet food (cold meats, pastries, cerials, juices, fruit, etc) but i decided on the 'breakfast special and was not disappointed with the 'full English' plate of very tasty food. Checking out was a friendly, relaxed experience. All together this was an excellent break, spent in a very impressive location. I can't wait to repeat the experience.

Room Tip: If offered an 'upgrade' definately spend the extra money to stay in a room within the castle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeordieWalts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We loved this place. From the moment we saw the castle my jaw dropped. It is a stunning building. We stayed in room 46, one of the feature bedrooms, for a 2 night stay. The room was amazing. It was darkly gothic in style, with wood panelling, red curtains at the two windows and around the gorgeous four poster bed. It had a stunning stone fireplace (dated 1666) and a huge roll top bath on a raised platform that was total decadence as you could lie in it's deep hot bubbley water and watch the flat screen TV. The room was very large with not only the four poster bed but two wing-backed arm chairs, a small table as well as dressing table, massive chest of draws and area at the door for making tea and coffee. Some people might think the room a little dark but it was absolutely perfect for us as it lead to its ambiance and the whole feel of staying in a caste. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was very very good, the chef and their team are to be congratulated. The breakfast was exceptional both mornings. The library bar was a great place to hang out with a drink after a long day of doing very little. I didn't want to leave this hotel and the amazing room that was number 46. A huge thanks to all the staff who made our stay memorable. Will I return? Just try and stop me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamer1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.3 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Property: Lumley Castle Hotel
Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing