We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in Durham”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Well not quite Durham. This is in no way a bad hotel but because my expectations were so high I felt let down. After the grand drive to the castle you thread your way through an unimposing courtyard, through a garden area and in through an uninspiring door. Into a dungeness type reception. Welcoming staff, lead to room, back outside into another courtyard, in through another unimposing door and into the castle. Impressive features and fittings, up the grand staircase to the third floor and along to the room. Small, crowded with furniture, compact bathroom, creaky floor. On the positive the room was lovely and warm and had all we needed. Drink in the Library bar was nice, friendly staff and quaint surroundings. Restaurant staff helpful with my Gluten allergy. Nice three course meal to value £30 included in deal but had to go over to get sweet. Black Night Restaurant is the right name for it. Good nights sleep, not disturbed by others. Breakfast was a noisy disappointing affair with a below average meal, saw others send theirs back. Juice and cereals in entrance corridor which is dark and crowded.
Been there, seen it, done it, wouldn't bother again.

Room Tip: didn't see courtyard rooms, but would have to risk the weather to get to bar and restaurant. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamj829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,709 - 1,715 of 2,167 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

visited for a meal only,special offer lunch two for 35 pound, went with sister and her husband. The castle looked lovely, all lit up, took a while to find our bearing, but it was nice to have a look around. The restaurant looked lovely, well set out, with plenty of tables. Three of us chose the mushroom soup, which was lovely and hot, and it tasted nice, brother in law chose ham hock terrine, which he enjoyed.We bought a bottle of dry white wine,we chose well, considering it was the cheapest bottle, and husbands had shandy and boddingtons. Two of us ordered chicken with a mini toad in the hole, and veg, it was tasty, but mine could have been a bit warmer. I would have liked more veg, as there was only a few green beans, brocolli and a couple of small boiled potatoes. The other two chose roast beef and yorkshire pud, would have liked a bit more on the plate, as we are all good eaters, not everyone likes small dinky meals. For sweet two of us chose the profiteroles, and the other two had apple and blackberry crumble, it was supposed to be with icecream, but we preferred cream, which was okay. We then finished with coffee and tea, and two mints each. The bill came to 95 pound fifty, only trouble was husband was still hungry. The service was very good and our waitress, Sharon, was very chatty, and went out of her way for us

Room Tip: did not stay here, so we could not comment, we would go back for a meal in the future
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Srayed in the castle and attended the banquet, great night with good service like to mention Tony and Sharon on reception very friendly and helpfull great start to the evening even got a free shortbread biscuit say no more!!
Room was to a very high standard overall Excellant

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here for my birthday and had one of the amazing rooms in the castle, I can say we stay in hotels and holiday a lot and this has to be the nicest hotel / room and dinner we have ever had..
Rooms are stunning with huge 4 poster bed and fire, lovely big bath in the room.
We ate in the Black knights restaurant and the starters where nice but the main course was fantastic and for a chef my self that takes a lot to say, the fillet steak was cooked to perfection and the venison was lovely..
We had a 3 course meal and wine, it maybe expensive but for special occasions or a more expensive treat it is very very good.
Very impressed with everything the stay was fantastic and would tell everybody to go..

Room Tip: Upgrade, pay for the best.. you get what you pay for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I know there are other castles that have been converted to hotels, but that does not prevent Lumley Castle from being a unique experience. The castle building itself is wonderful, and full of interesting objects on display. There are not many opportunities to stay overnight in an 800-year old building. You have to make some allowances - the rooms are obviously not like a modern hotel, but we thoroughly enjoyed it. It took us a while to find our vanity unit and en-suite facilities as they were behind concealed doors in the wooden paneling. The WC/shower room was a surprise - just 3 feet wide and you had to walk through the shower tray to reach the WC! (See photograph) Just part of the fun and one of the allowances you must make when staying in a building like this. Breakfast was excellent, and served by friendly local Geordies. I would especially recommend this hotel to foreign visitors to England - you won't regret it and you'll never forget it.

Room Tip: There are some stable-block rooms outside the castle that are more modern. They are very close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobotheviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked the Friday Night Getaway for my birthday which included bed and breakfast and evening meal. We were upgraded from courtyard room to a room in the castle, which was great. Room was lovely and a little cute bear greeted us. The meal choice was excellent and we both really enjoyed it. There was really heavy snow when we were there but waking up in the castle and seeing snow through the oval window was simply magical. Had a perfect birthday and can't wait to go again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachylou1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We visited the Castle 2 weeks ago for a relaxing evening meal.
On arrival you can not help but be impressed with the surroundings. We were taken to the bar area for a drink and to browse the menu. The choice is sufficient but mains a little expensive.
The service was good without being intrusive during the meal. Most of the mains need to be supplemented with add on veg (not included in the price).
Steaks were delicious and expensive but worth paying for on a special night.
My only gripe would be at the end of the meal trying to get the bill took 30 mins!
Still would definitely return for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bertlondon73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
4.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
543 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.3 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: $83 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing