We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“homely and cosy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lumley Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“homely and cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

me and my husband stayed for 2 nights and it was just lovely real log fire christmas trees so cosy, wonderful evening meal which i may add very good price the staff are wonderful and the breakfast service is very quick and a good choice of menu. The bedroom was very warm and clean bed very comfortable the shower was hot and strong If you really want to inspect the fittings and furnishings in the main part of the hotel yes some of the bits and pieces does look a bit old and tired but overall if you just want a cosy break eg sitting in front of a log fire with a bottle of wine, good service, good food and peace and quite then this is the place for you

Room Tip: make sure your room is not under the stairs ours was and we heard every one going up and down
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    494
    267
    114
    48
See reviews for
311
1,092
22
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just arrived back from 2 nights at Lovely Lumley Castle!
We arrived with a Groupon voucher for two nights and were directed to a courtyard room which we were advised we could upgrade, when I asked if this was possible. We stayed with the courtyard upper room which was small and pleasant the only trouble being the lighting when getting ready to go out was dismal so we asked for another room. We were immediately offered three rooms to view in the castle all being four poster. Unfortunately the one we chose was over the Northumbria Suite and as we arrived back in our room after our evening meal the noise was rather loud. We telephoned reception and within three minutes a porter assisted us to another four poster room, the one with the loo through the wardrobe which was wonderful and quirky! An extremely beautiful room.
We can honestly say that throughout our stay at Lumley the staff were exemplary and cannot understand the views previously about the staff as we feel whoever trained the staff did a wonderful job! We would like to thank the staff on reception, Dean the porter, Nicola and Judith from The Library and The Manager, Chefs and staff in The Back Knight Restaurant and as the food was wonderful.
We visited Durham and had a brilliant day there roaming the streets and also spent some time in the Cathedral and had a chat with the Dean as well as listening to the rehearsals for the evenings carol service.
All in all a great weekend and we do hope to return in the future.
Go with an open mind and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for the room through the Wardrobe you won't regret it and it's quieter. Eat in the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Italientraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
403 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here a little while back - Castle is a memorable location. You do tend to get a little lost finding the restaurant & bars but eventually you get the hang of all the long corridors & courtyards - which are all interesting & characterful. Food was very good in the restaurant. will come back as a special treat with the family - maybe in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplyFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We attended a christmas elizabethen night on 8th december 2012 and the entertainment was not what we expected, it was not an elizabethen theme, more so a pantomine. The food was sparce and bland, it was thrown at you and no time to enjoy until the next course. Overall it was overpriced, poor quality food and service, will not be returning.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ameythist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We went for a weekend 2 weeks ago. The hotel room was lovely except that the shower cubicle door didn't close and the shower was freezing cold. It took a while to warm up but by Sunday morning I had given up on having a shower due to no water coming our of shower head. With the screen not closing and the small gap trying to get into the shower along with the shower head directly above you i was glad i brought a shower cap as my long hair would have been soaked. The bathroom floor was slippy to say the least! Our neighbours above us decided to talk, argue, tv on loud, sounded like they were running above us for 3 hours. I also heard constant drilling. By the end of it i thought the London Maranthon runners were going to come through the ceiling! Normally I wouldn't complain but i phoned reception who said 'she knew who it was and would solve the problem', she said there was no building work going on in the hotel. Well next morning I bumped into the grumpy looker builder with his work tools including his drill on his way to breakfast mumbling something to himself ha ha lol. I think he knew it was me who complained! Nice location but expect to hear people going through corridors past your room to other parts of the building if staying in the cottage and parking in front of your windows. I have to say this didn't bother me just grumpy builder Bob! The medieval banquet was ok but went on for hours the entertainment was good but expect to sit there for 5 hours which was too long. Breakfast was lovely in a gorgeous room and the Christmas decorations were lovely. I was slightly disappointed in my overall visit i expected so much more. Wasn't great having to walk in the pouring rain and cold from the cottage via carpark, then a courtyard to the hotel reception then to another courtyard. The castle was so so cold, one lady told me she has to put towels to the bottom of her door as there was a draught going under the door as well as her windows.Better to visit in the Summer me thinks!

Room Tip: stay in the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jopa65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Many years ago the Black Knight restaurant was our main choice for eating out and we had our wedding reception at the castle so on our anniversary we treated ourselves to a one-night stay.

Booking in was quick, efficient and friendly and we were escorted to our four-poster room where the bed was the overpowering feature. The room was rather dark - to be expected in an old castle on a cold November afternoon - but what was not expected was the low temperature of the room which had just one small and ancient radiator. A call to reception quickly produced a small electric heater which did help to keep us warm. However there was no such option in the bathroom which was entered through the ‘wardrobe’ and had no heating at all - a bit like Narnia but without the magic!

Some 14 years ago the Black Knight lost its charm for us due to a change of staff and a chef who’s menus were not to our taste so we were interested to see how things had changed. After a pre-dinner drink in the Library Bar we were quickly taken to the restaurant which was much brighter than before without losing its ambience - an improvement. Also an improvement was the food which we could not fault either in presentation or quality. Quantities, too, were just right and we were able to have the full three courses - something we don’t always achieve. Service was much more relaxed than previously, perhaps a touch too relaxed - there is a happy medium - and we did feel that we were being rushed

And so to bed where we had a good night’s sleep and awoke refreshed to tackle a very respectable breakfast where, sadly, service left a bit to be desired. We were surprised that while booking out no-one asked if we had enjoyed our stay.

To sum up: the accommodation in the main castle could be updated without losing its character. These rooms are marketed on romance and the experience but it is hard to be romantic while shivering. Service was generally good but a little more staff training would not come amiss. Overall an enjoyable experience and we will be returning to the Black Knight restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikansoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a two-night break and received a room upgrade which we were delighted with. It has the feel of a real castle rather than a gentrified mansion, with a great atmosphere. The whole stay was very enjoyable and we would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
4.3 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Property: Lumley Castle Hotel
Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing