We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but lacking..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quaint but lacking..”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I had an overnight stay on business here. It's featured as a piece of history & it did live up to that with the whole Elizabethan type period effect. The building is a reconditioned former castle with some interesting views.
The reception experience was vague & rather out of date for a modern hotel - it was usually unmanned as far as I could see although occasionally an elderly lady popped out from somewhere to point me in the right direction.
The room was adequate although smallish but bathroom & overall functionality was fine. Decor was old fashioned but not just thrown together, quite well done but not my style, too "frilly" & cluttered really. Grounds etc were pretty & there's a golf course.
Breakfast was quite nicely done, full English went down well & I heard the salmon scrambled eggs were good. Need a better cereal choice though.

Overall it would be nice for a leisure break if you are not too picky and the prices seem reasonable. The hotel needs to upgrade the customer facing side of things though - staff were quite thin on the ground & the reception needs bringing into the 21st century.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMACz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    528
    277
    118
    49
See reviews for
340
1,152
24
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
burnley
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I recently stayed at Lumley Castle, with my wife, as we were attending a wedding that was being held there. Whilst the experience was good, I have got to say that as we left, we felt slightly disappointed. Most of the reviews that we had read, enthused about "what a fantastic place" it was. Perhaps we missed something. There is very little, either externally or internally that is attractive about the castle . Our castle room was nice, with the highest four poster bed that we have ever seen.The staff are ok, but not over friendly. The full English breakfast was very dry - fried eggs are not available (as I was sternly told). Any drinks ( other than bottled drinks) ordered at the bar had to be brought from downstairs by an overworked barman. Sorry, but the whole experience was lacking for us and in our opinion does not offer value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claretbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I stayed here for one night last week. I asked to swap rooms as I was recovering from a foot operation and they were happy to do this without any issues. I stayed in a lovely courtyard room and also had room service which was great as well. This is the 2nd time I have stayed and once again everything was great. A perfect location and definitely value for money with great service.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sennitonnika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2011

we recently stayed for a wedding we had a large room in the castle (rm 52) to faciliate our 3 small children. we all had a wonderful stay i found all the staff very helpful and friendly. the castle is a 10 min walk to a public park with a large play ground (riverside park) which was great for entertaining the children the day after the wedding.

Room Tip: the rooms in the castle are big and spacious we had plenty of room for 2 adults and 3 children aged...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upthedoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I have recently stayed in Lumley Castle for a corporate event , I stayed in the garden room number 87, the room was lovely perfectly adequate but lacked the atmosphere of the courtyard rooms, another downside was the people next door flushing the loo in the middle of the night, may as well have been in our room as the toilet was on the headboard side of our room and woke us up. The castle itself is enchanting, and just as I asked the staff is this the haunted corridor all the lights went off sheer co-incidence I suppose but added to the atmosphere. The meal was nice but a bit of a "cop-out" as we had a set meal for 20 and would have loved to have had a choice, was very nice none the less. Would definately stay again especially if I am not paying :)

Room Tip: Would pay the extra for a courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenmack68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We eat at Lumley Castle quite regularly and usually find it a very pleasant experience, if a little expensive.The current menu is still described as Spring -surely it is time for a change?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rokers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed in one of the Castle rooms, It was a beautiful foom and we loved the Castle. The only bad point of are stay was some of the staff could have been helpful. Over all we enyoyed are stay.

Room Tip: We would recommend one of the castle rooms for a unique night away
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
4.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.3 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Property: Lumley Castle Hotel
Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing