We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and lovely owners”
Review of The Gables Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gables Hotel
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here when at Durham Gala theatre. Cannot fault the place or the owners. This place obviously has fallen victim to tuppence happney snobs who want rock bottom prices with Waldarf standards.

Dorcas and John. Keep up good work

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank theatrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 19 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

only stayed one night passing through and left early the next morning but this b&b was ideal for that. John was very welcoming and didn't have a problem with us arriving late, he also did breakfast early for us the next day. The place was clean and comfortable, didn't matter to me that it was a little dated. Don't expect 5* accommodation at 2* prices! No complaints from me.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Very run down place for sale no wonder !! Total lack of cleanliness. Bathroom filthy broken tiles toilet hanging off the wall ,mould all round the bath , dare not touch the light switch it was black, carpets not hoovered very old and dirty throughout ,table cloths all stained in restaurant. Nice people the only positive.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This B and b was just what we needed after a gruelling day doing the Coast to Coast. When things didn't quite go as planned and I rang to say we would be very late I was met with a cheery response and told that if I just rang the bell they would let us in. Little did they know it was going to be 2am but John very kindly let us in and showed us to our rooms and was still up serving breakfast with a smile and awful jokes in the morning. The décor may be a little dated but our room was pleasantly warm, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: If you know you need an early breakfast it makes sense to arrange at the time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had some mixed reviews of this hotel but we found it very nice. The room and en suite were clean ( a little dated) the bed was comfortable, there was lots of hot water. Our English breakfast was second to none, very filling and made with first class ingredients. John (the owner was very helpful and polite. We would revisit again. My only criticism is the main road is very busy (as it was a hot night we had the window open).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Always very welcoming. A very friendly and pleasant experience. Excellent breakfast.
Good value for money. My place of choice whenever I stay in Duham. Large covered smoking area at the back of the hotel, with plenty of parking space parking spaces. John. the owner acts as the master of entertainment, with the karaoke being very popular with both locals and guests.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank STUARTB255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Booked in for one night only (thank goodness) en route to Great north run. Room & furniture very old fashioned. Bathroom - when you flush the toilet, the noise from the macerator is horrendous and you can hear the same from other rooms as well. Couldn't have a shower because the temperature was either scalding hot or freezing cold, despite the setting being at warm. We were told every room was taken by somebody going to the Great north run. In view of this, you would have expected that the 7.30am breakfast could have been brought forward to allow people to eat before having to leave at 7.15, however this was said not to be an option. Customer service ???? Don't stay at this hotel !

Room Tip: Don't stay here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
5.9 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
6.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
6.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#10 of 18 in Durham
77 reviews
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
570 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Address: 59 Front Street, Durham DH6 2EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: $98 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing