We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute of it”
Review of Hall Hill Farm

Hall Hill Farm
Ranked #3 of 59 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Award winning Farm Attraction, Farm Attraction of the Year 2017 and 2010. Best in Education 2014, Winner of Silver NE Tourism Awards 2013 and Silver Award for Small Visitor Attraction of the Year 2017. See the animals, cuddle the rabbits and guinea pigs, donkey rides, tractor and trailer rides. Lambing Time in March April. Indoor Soft Play Barn, tearoom and giftshop. Crazy golf (deposit required). Sheep Racing and puppet shows at weekends and during school holidays.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We went to Hall Hill Farm as my youngest son had visited with his nursery and got two free child entry vouchers, so we thought why not. When we got there we were given a map and told what was on. After milking the cow we went into the barn to hold the chicks. The staff member was very helpful although he did keep texting while we were there which I thought was a bit unprofessional. We then went to bottle feed the lambs, there were quite a few children there, but the worker ensured everyone had a turn which I thought was great, the children enjoyed donkey, barrel and tractor rides that were again operated by friendly helpful staff. The outdoor play area is good, and the indoor play area is clean and tidy. There was lots going on, including the sheep races where we won a pencil! Woohoo!! There is a lot of emphasis on hand washing, and there were lots of sinks and hand gel stations that were well stocked. The animals were well cared for and the farm well maintained. We will definitely be back

Thank Samanfaamanfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallhillfarm, Ann Darlington, Tourism Manager, Hall Hill Farm at Hall Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Thank you very much for writing your review, we are so pleased to hear you loved every minute of your visit to Hall Hill Farm, and that the staff were friendly and helpful, and your comments re the mobile phone have been noted, and someone will be reminded of company policy not to use his phone whilst at work! The sheep races will continue until we close at the end of October Half term so you might even win another pencil next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"donkey rides"
in 55 reviews
"puppet show"
in 39 reviews
"feeding the lambs"
in 18 reviews
"sheep race"
in 17 reviews
"play barn"
in 20 reviews
"crazy golf"
in 25 reviews
"bouncy pillow"
in 9 reviews
"barrel ride"
in 19 reviews
"all ages"
in 26 reviews
"great family day"
in 16 reviews
"soft play"
in 26 reviews
"indoor play area"
in 19 reviews
"young ones"
in 6 reviews
"grown ups"
in 6 reviews
"rabbit"
in 11 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 10 reviews
"birthday party"
in 8 reviews
Filter

334 - 338 of 489 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Went here on a Saturday with a 3 and a 6 year old. Weather was dry but chilly. There was so much to do that we spent a good 5 hours here and with admission for all four of us being £20 this was excellent value for money. Animals all looked well looked after and the information given about each one was informative. The kids loved feeding the animals and hand cleaning facilities were plentiful and clean. We only paid extra for the donkey ride (£1) which makes a nice change from other nearby farms where they have lots of hidden charges. I would say half the attractions (both animals and play areas) are inside so its perfect for all weathers. We only bought drinks and snacks but these were very well priced, you are also allowed to eat your own food in the soft play cafe area.
All in all, a brilliant day out and we will return!

Thank kerenhappuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallhillfarm, Ann Darlington, Tourism Manager at Hall Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind remarks and we are delighted you and your family had a fantastic day. We do enjoy having visitors at the farm, and we try to look after our visitors as we would like to be treated, with great value and good customer service. We hope we will see you again when you next visit the North-East.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hall Hill is an excellent place to take the kids, We love it!. We have two kids 4yrs and 6 months and like the place that much we're season ticket holders. There's plenty to do, from donkey rides to feeding the lambs and even if it rains there's the big play barn. The prices are reasonable too, and they do try and add new stuff when they can, this year there has been sheep racing and when we went the other day they had a welly wanging competition too. The whole site is pretty accessible, not all on the flat but you can get round with a pushchair easily. The food in the cafe is ok but the menu isn't very big but the kids lunch box is pretty good value. If your looking for somewhere to take the kids for a fun few hours look no further this place is ideal!

Thank RobbieandSarah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallhillfarm, Ann Darlington, Tourism Manager at Hall Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Robbie and Sarah,
Thank you for your great photos and review and I am delighted to hear you are Hall Hill Farm members. We do feel our family membership offers great value and thanks to feedback from visitors like yourselves , it now lasts a full 12 months. I will certainly look at the tearoom menu and see if we can add some new dishes for the Autumn. Many thanks for your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited the farm with our young children 5yrs and 2yrs and we had a fantastic time. Both kids loved it. There is a donkey ride which I thought was very good for £1. We had booked a deal through sun fm which included a picnic for the kids which to buy is £3.99 it included a sandwich capri sun drink yoghurt raisins crisps and a little soft toy. I thought this was great value and my kids loved it.
The staff at the farm are very helpful and friendly. I cannot recommend this farm enough

Thank Victora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallhillfarm, Ann Darlington, Tourism Manager at Hall Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Victoria,
We all really appreciate our visitors taking the time to write reviews, thank you for your lovely comments. Many thanks Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very well orgnised. Kids love it here. Staff will do what they can to help. We have bought a yearly pass.

Thank Livelaughlearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallhillfarm, Ann Darlington, Tourism Manager at Hall Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we always aim to give high standards of customer service, so it is very gratifying when this is recognised by our visitors. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hall Hill Farm also viewed

Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Hall Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing