We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to its best”
Review of Castle Eden Inn

Castle Eden Inn
Ranked #185 of 305 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Newly refurbished coaching inn fantastic british Gastro/Pub
UK
Level Contributor
585 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Back to its best”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Just had lunch at The Castle Eden Inn, everything was at least very good. Prompt attentive service and a fantastic summer menu from Chef Dave Coulson. He deserves all the praise and credit for the quality of the food, at £18 for 3 courses, it is a good place to head for in the North East of Durham. There are occasional slips but on balance the staff are good at their job, even with difficult customers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AUKTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    76
    57
    40
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awful service and unhelpful manageress and over charging”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just left here 5 minutes ago. I eat hear last week and spent 180 pounds. We went back again today for Sunday lunch as the food previoulsy was excellent.

I have to say that the service was shoddy. We ordered 5 starters and there were 6 of us. 4 were delivered and they forgot the other. By the time we realised everybody had finished and they said they would knock it off the bill. Big deal...not even have a coffee on us etc.

The cauliflower cheese was awful and watery.

Then it took them 3 attempts to get the bill correct from 126 to eventually 111 pound....i suggested to the manageress that they should reduce the bill slighlty for their oversight on both the service and the bill...

'I can't do thst sir'...even when I said we will go elsewhere in the future...that was that...shame but good food also involves customer focus and good service and not a 16 pound over charge to boot!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Continuing excellence”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Beautifully laid out pub and restaurant. Good menu, quality food - went as a group and must, must, must recommend their steak pie (impossible to finish), some of our party had a chicken kiev which looked superb. All courses are beautifully presented - good staff who are welcoming and helpful. Well worth visiting.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank WTOtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Service is getting worse...AVOID, VERY RUDE MANAGER.”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is the fifth time we have visited this restaurant. We wrote a review after our first trip as we thought the food was exceptional but the service was slow and it was under staffed. Since then the service has got much worse and the manager is one of the most rude, un customer focused managers I have ever met.

We had to wait 45mins for the starters to arrive. We went for the salmon starter which was much smaller than before and tasted poor. After our plates were collected we waited over an hour and hadn't even been asked if we wanted an additional drink. My partner asked the waitress how long our food was going to be she said she would look and then brought it out straight away - both meals looked like they had been sitting for a long time, my burger was crispy and my parners meal was very very dry. My fries were unedible. We only ate a little bit and asked for the bill.

My partner asked if she could have a word with the manager who took almost 10 minutes to come, when we explained and showed her the meal there was no apology or recognition for the poor service. She looked at us like we were absolute scum! She said to one of the staff take their mains off the bill and walked off.

There was no explanation, no apology, no offer to recook the main - In fairness if she came out and really apologised we would have been happier but it was the awful way she dealt with us that made us feel terrible. Just writing this is making me feel angry!

A waitress came over and took payment, she said that they had two chefs and a member of staff ring in sick. Why didn't the manager say this?

This is such a shame as this place could be lovely and has gone down big style. For what its worth we drive 35 miles to eat here! Never ever again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank darlodivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“old coaching inn”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This pub has an outstanding restaurant with an outstanding chef.The bar area is large but has a seperate lounge with comfortable seating.Outside there are plenty of picnic tables.so you can eat or drink outside if the weather is nice.The inn is set in an old country village just off the A19,with easy access north and south

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Eden Inn also viewed

Hartlepool, County Durham
 
Peterlee, County Durham
Hesleden, Hartlepool
 
Durham, County Durham
Hartlepool, County Durham
 

Been to Castle Eden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing