We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Surprise!”

The Grill @ Gadds Town House
Ranked #48 of 304 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to have lunch on a rainy day after a tour of Durham Cathedral. It wasn't easy to find but well worth the effort. An excellent choice of starters and mains with very good wine by the glass. We had oysters and warm scotch egg to begin followed by a generous portion of calves liver and the aberdeen angus burger as main courses. All were cooked perfectly and beautifully presented. The service was professional and very cheerful. We were surprised that only two tables were taken but were told the hotel and evenings were usually full.
Don't miss this if you're in Durham!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abbottus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    54
    16
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yarm, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best meal in durham”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I very rarely leave a review for a restaurant but having been here last week with my husband i felt i had to comment, we are frequent vistors to Durham city and have ate in many restaurants there, this been by far the best, the feel of the restaurant, surroundings and the skill used by the chefs to create the food rivals some london hotels we have stayed in. I recommend the pigeon breast, outstanding and we will return.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank val m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the locality!!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Its not the cheapest place. But good food doesn't come cheap.

The food is devine and the decor and ambience is lovely. One of the best places I have been in a while and we like our Michelin Star food. Very nice!

Perfect place to impress someone!

We are taking our family her to celebrate Christmas as we'll be on holiday.

Go and try it for yourself you won't be disapointed!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moogle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ambient restaurant, beautiful tasteful rooms, all newly renovated”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were going to book here to stay but there was no availability in the room we wanted but we decided to eat here as the menu was gorgeous. We were seated in the bar where a very efficent lady took our order and brought us drinks. We were taken to our table and the meal was superb, in particular the sweets have an unusual twist...some have a liquer mix with them, they are fantastic. The service was great and we had a really lovely romantic evening. My only negative point would be that I was wearing a knee length dress and the dining chair was a little bit scratchy on the back of my leg where it had been upholstered - its the only thing I would change because everything else is just perfect. We asked to see the rooms while we were there and were showed one that had just been finished and it was really beautiful. We would definitely come here again on a trip to Durham, 5 star!! Well done.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous steak”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

luxurious surroundings,great service and fab quality steak. I would highly recommend it. Hotel is also lovely

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank traci2k6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill @ Gadds Town House also viewed

Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to The Grill @ Gadds Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing