We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem, wonderful menu, excellent value”

Finbarr’s Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Finbarr’s Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 312 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, wonderful menu, excellent value”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Finbarr's is easy walking distance from the city centre (Framwellgate side) and not far from the station. Tucked away, you'd perhaps mistake it for a pub-hotel, but the beautifully appointed restaurant is immediately appealing. The menu, both a la carte and fixed price (the latter was fantastic value) is not over-bearing with choices, but making a choice is difficult. I really wanted to sample the three dishes we had for lunch. We had a quiet Saturday long lunch, and so the service was duly attentive but discreet. The food was perfectly cooked and presented, with ample portions--quite delicious. I don't doubt that we'll be back regularly whenever in Durham. Full marks.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FourbyeFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    214
    77
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food, average service”
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Went with my wife and daughter. Very enjoyable evening. The haggis scotch eggs were wonderful, as was my steak.

I would say the service was only average - I know it's a hard balance to be attentive while discrete, however I did feel ignored at times. Not sure if it's normal at this restaurant, but not once were wine or water glasses topped up.

Decor and atmosphere very pleasant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thedaddy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham uk
Level 6 Contributor
549 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Quality food,in a vibrant atmosphere.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our first visit to Finbarrs at The Kings Lodge Hotel turned out to be a huge sucsess. Quality cuisine combined with a vbrant atmosphere,and friendly,competant waiting staff made for a tremendous,and highly entertaining evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunlunlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family get-together”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Table for seven organised at short notice - treat organised by myself on behalf of my mother and law and my wife's Aunt viisiting from Ireland.
Age of guests ranging from two in their eighties to our kids aged 13 and 12.
The food was excellent - slight hic-up when a dish was requested to be slightly amended and the request was overlooked meaning that one of the guests had to wait an extra couple of minutes for the main course, but this would be the only minor criticism of an otherwise delightful night.

The food was first class, service was friendly and professional apart from the above slip - food was pricey, but good value for this quality of food freshly cooked to order.

My son tried squid for the first time and loved it!

Thanks for an excellent evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Familydiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The restaurant is well set out, with white cloths on the tables and it has a good atmosphere - they do a good special menu at a reasonable price during the week and so it always seems busy. The food is good, as is the service and the a la carte menu is good fine dining.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diana014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finbarr’s Restaurant also viewed

Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 
Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Finbarr’s Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing