We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cool place to go for a good rummage”

Durham City Indoor Market Hall
Ranked #17 of 57 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A cool place to go for a good rummage”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I went in near the end of trading hours, so some places were starting to close up, but I still had plenty to look at. There are some run of the mill stalls there, but there are also some really cool ones. I went to a lovely little cheese counter that had some great cheeses, chutneys and local honey. I bought some cheese that tasted pretty good and a pot of honey that was lovely. I also bought a handmade miniature bowl from a stall that had all handmade ornaments and lampshades. Some of them were gorgeous and if I'd had £200 spare at that moment, I would have bought one of the lamps lol unfortunately I had already spent quite a bit, so had to content myself with a slightly less expensive bowl.

If you like a good old fashioned indoor market and you are in the area, it's definitely worth a look.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    70
    30
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
590 reviews
225 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Travel back in time”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

It's many years since I've been to an old style indoor market like this. Loads of junk but some unusual stalls too. Well worth a look round.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SmilerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
329 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Good For Rummaging”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nothing of any significance for sale but its a great place for a rummage.

If you are a tourist have a look around its a great place for a bit of history

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank howie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, South Yorks
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“a bargain to be had”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Only a small indoor market but what it lacks in size it gains in friendly stall holders, plenty of bargains and a good place to eat or have acuppa

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a MUST for anybody visiting Durham .The atmosphere is atmospheric !! Love the game stall and boundless choice of cheese Stock up on your spices at vey good rates..Great tea room " up top ", scones to die for.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Durham City Indoor Market Hall also viewed

 
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Durham City Indoor Market Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing