We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!”
Review of The Shoes

The Shoes
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Shoes
Ranked #16 of 40 Durham B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I work away a lot and have stayed in many b&bs and this is the first time I have been compelled to write a review about one. The room we stayed in was very comfortable, well presented, clean and cosy. The breakfast was excellent and the owner is a top bloke, very friendly and so laid back!! The best place to stay in durham. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
14
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Great welcome from Billy. Friendly locals pub - great draught too.

Upstairs to the room:spacious and spotlessly clean. We were out until 11.30am - by which time the bar was closed - so no noise. Breakfast cooked by Billy kept us going until evening.

In all a great place to stay: cheaper than the Premier Inn, closer to the city (we walked in and back; just over 10 minutes each way) and really personal - on top of which breakfast was included.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkr59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our welcome by Billy was great - he was expecting us. The room was far better than we expected - spacious and with a modern bathroom and the beds were comfy. In the evening there was pub noise but this stopped about 11pm. Breakfast was a huge meal (one of the few I've been unable to finish) served in the bar. When asked about wifi Billy’s mum who was ‘in charge’ at the time seemed puzzled but to her credit she found out what we were asking about and came knocking on the door with the password.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at Shoes when visiting Durham for the first time as my son was taking part in the Great North Run. Whilst initially the outside appearance suggested nothing special, as soon as we entered the pub it was a very nice atmosphere and we received a warm welcome from Billy and his staff behind the bar. Our room and all the upstairs accomodation was excellent, good showers and spotlessly clean.. We left after a superb full english breakfast was cooked to perfection. Just one thing to consider is the parking, which requires vehicles to be left on the road as there is no designated car spaces.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank handjtosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A recent visit to Durham was the first time my husband and I had visited the city and I am so pleased that in searching for accommodation on the internet I came across this absolutely great place. The host, Billy, was truly wonderful. The room was spotless and comfortable. The pub itself was great - lively without being a magnet for troublemakers. The breakfasts were SUPERB (if I ever get into my normal clothes again it will be a miracle!) and I would most definitely recommend The Shoes as a brilliant place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We came back to durham as ex students and stayed one night at the shoes and had a great night! The rooms were lovely, the beds so comfy and it was great to have a latte macchiato in the morning as well as the most incredible hangover breakfast! The staff were friendly and accommodating - they didn't mind us coming back late from town. Would defo recommend and stay again! Great value for money! See you in october

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have now stayed at The Shoes on a number of occasions and always found the landlord and staff to be extremely warm, welcoming and helpful. Facilities are clean and exactly what's required for a short break. Breakfast is superb. I will certainly be staying more often in the future!!! Well done and thanks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
0.9 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
429 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn Hall
#11 of 18 in Durham
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoes

Property: The Shoes
Address: 16 Sunderland Road | Gilesgate, Durham DH1 2JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shoes 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run public house with three letting bedrooms two of which are ensuite and one with private shower and toilet, there is also free wifi and tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing