We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem of a find!!!”
Review of The Shoes

The Shoes
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Shoes
Ranked #17 of 38 Durham B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A little gem of a find!!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

What a lovely little public house offering clean, comfortable and easy access to Durham town centre, a pleasant 15 minutes walk down hill or jumping a number 20 bus for £1.30 only two stops or taxi £4. What excellent value for money and a super full english breakfast included in the costs. The simple easy come easy go - nothing a problem attitude from Billy is both relaxed and very welcoming, yet the attention to detail in the room makes this wonderful value for money. We will definately return and next time try out the bar menu!

Room Tip: Only three so book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Huddleston_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
14
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sale
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at the shoes for two nights while visiting Durham which is a twenty miniute walk away. The rooms are excellent value for money, and a great breakfast the following morning.
The staff were most helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boardys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Comfortable B&B accommodation conveniently situated for Durham City - 20 mins walk or buses every 5 mins or so. Very friendly owners and staff. Well-kept real ale in the bar.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nauticalgeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Staffordshire
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2010

The Shoes pub was recommended to us by friends who live in Durham and were organising a Birthday party.
Owned by Billy and Lynne and completely refurbished two years ago the Shoes has 3 bedrooms. We stayed in the red themed room. The bedroom was well furnished with two comfortable single beds. Flat screen tv with DVD player built in- useful if you want to borrow a film from the collection on the landing.
En suite shower-room was very clean and even had cotton wool face wipes.
After a good nights sleep we were given a hearty breakfast at a time to suit us.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Location of the Shoes is on the old road out of Durham and is next to a public free car park. A regular bus service runs into Durham from the stop nearby. This is useful as we found free parking in the Centre of Durham was non existent.
The bar area was very clean and well decorated with ladies shoes being the theme of the decoration everywhere! A good choice of beers was available from the bar as we found the Shoes is not tied to a brewery.
A Sainsburys Local store is across the car park and this was found to be useful when my wife realised she had forgotten some toiletries.
Liked- The friendly Durham welcome and the breakfast.
Disliked- Nothing

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank werdnA1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
496 reviews
0.7 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
0.9 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Town House Durham
The Town House Durham
#5 of 38 in Durham
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoes

Property: The Shoes
Address: 16 Sunderland Road | Gilesgate, Durham DH1 2JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shoes 3*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing