We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most perfect afternoon tea”

Crook Hall & Gardens
Ranked #2 of 58 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Having come across Crook Hall by accident when searching for a place to have afternoon tea for a mother's day treat, I was so thrilled with the perfect setting over looking the gardens, the delicious homemade cakes and the attentive but not overbearing service, it made this occasion extra special, and I would highly recommend it for any celebration.

1  Thank Cfs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrookHallGardens, Owner at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

I am delighted you had such a lovely Sparkling Afternoon Tea. We are so proud of these. We have been compared favourably with Claridges and the Ritz which along with your comments make us feel it is all worthwhile. We also believe in offering a high quality experience along with excellent value. I am so pleased that you agree.We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 546 of 781 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014

Lovely gardens and walled gardens with interesting cottage garden plants, helpful and friendly staff with small but interesting building. Good cafe with light lunches, snacks and afternoon teas. On the Saturday we visited all the entrance costs were being donated to charity. Will visit again in summer when gardens are said to be very colourful. Local art and gifts for sale in house - nice leather handbags!

Thank horacesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrookHallGardens, Owner at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your response and supporting the charity day.We raised money for such a great cause. I am pleased you like our leather bags we try to provide great value in our shop. I was delighted you gave our Hall and Gardens a higher rating than you gave Monet's Garden at Giverney. we had always had that garden as one we had used as an inspiration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This gem of a Hall and gorgeous gardens are a great place to visit whilst in the area. There is a super cafe with a roaring fire going and sections of gardens to enjoy. Plenty of seats in the garden to relax and unwind.

Thank parkyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrookHallGardens, Owner at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We would love to have all the people who visit the city to pop along to the hall and gardens. Like you we feel it would be such a shame to miss if you were on the doorstep. We had a visitor from Japan who had visited Britain who had come along saying that he could not visit England without coming to Crook Hall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We visited here during a recent stay in Durham and it is a beautiful characterful little place. From the maze where you first go in, to the wonderful gardens on each side of the building, this is an enchanting place. There was a mad hatters tea party on for the children too, with crazy characters running around which all added to the charm. The Mad Hatter had us in stitches!

The hall itself retains much of its original features although the chimney could do with a sweep as a lot of the smoke came back down and into the living room. Give this bit a miss if you have breathing difficulties! Overall it's not the sort of place you could spend a whole day but if you're in Durham and it's open (please check times/dates before you visit) then it's definitely worth a look.

Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrookHallGardens, Owner at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed our event so many people come along to these events throughout the year. They are so popular. Yes the chimney has given us bother in the past. I think its resolved as we have bought a new grate which sits a bit higher. We look forward to you visiting again. Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This beautiful house and gardens is wonderfully quirky. It is family owned and so is not as commercialised as National trust type places. The cafe is great, the gardens are lovely and the whole atmosphere is relaxed and family friendly.

1  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrookHallGardens, Owner at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We try to be quirky and not corporate. We work hard to achieve this as we are also keen to be consistent in providing excellent customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crook Hall & Gardens also viewed

Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Crook Hall & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing