We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Quaint”

Crook Hall & Gardens
Ranked #2 of 57 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Quaint”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We went here for a wedding, but were able to browse the gardens. It were so many beautiful flowers and the gardens are charming. I could have spent hours in the gardens especially the gated secret garden. It was a fabulous place for reflection.

It was a bit of a hike up the steep hill, but wasn't a problem for us. However, I think it would have been difficult for anyone elderly or unstable on their feet.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DianeFromDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrookHallGardens, Owner at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback. Our weddings are very popular and the guests are often delighted with the couples.choice of venue. There is a steep entrance but most of the site is flat and with a lot of seats around. Our oldest visitor was 102 our youngest was two days old. Both seemed to manage with help. With any attraction which involves walking then some individuals may find it difficult and at Crook Hall there are steps and slopes which do make it difficult for those with mobility problems.We just hope it is worth the effort for all those who do visit. Thanks again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    158
    28
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shildon, County Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful location; super soup!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We enjoyed our visit - the gardens were beautiful - and had lunch in the cafe. The onion soup was the best I've ever had, and the lady who had created it was kind enough to share the recipe... - we also saw another family being shown sandwiches/etc suitable for a wedding reception, and these looked totally stunning - almost worth getting married all over again for...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank krcoulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrookHallGardens, Manager at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely words, the lady behind our gorgeous onion soup is our Cafe Manager Nicola. The aromas fill the kitchen and the staff are so desperate for a taste but it is always snapped up. The carrot and coriander is a favourite also!

It sounds like you saw one of our Sparkling Afternoon Teas in the serving, they are so lovely and we have opened our Georgian Drawing Room to especially serve them in. They are very popular with our wedding couples and we have had some renewal of vows ceremonies in the past if you were thinking of saying 'I do' again! Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Marvellous place....magic gardens, site full of character and charm. Hidden gem of Durham.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We were so impressed with the place, the ladies in charge, the food, the views...there is so much to say about this wonderful place that the best advice is just PLEASE go and experience it. You will not regret it one bit. It's a joy to know you have such a magnificent place so close from home. Thanks to the staff and owner. We had a lovely afternoon and will be back for sure.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank adriadri_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrookHallGardens, Manager at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review and such kind words, our staff were delighted that you enjoyed the Hall and Gardens. Many people comment on the views from the Gardens of historic Durham and Durham Cathedral. We are so close to the City Centre and I hope many people take you word for it and visit us very soon.

We look forward to welcoming you all back to Crook Hall and Gardens soon! Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea with an added sparkle”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

From start to finish this was quite simply a lovely experience. We were met at the entrance and escorted to an elegant table in the beautiful walled gardens where a glass of sparkling wine awaited us. The afternoon tea was both generous tasty with a good variety of freshly made sandwiches, scones and cakes. The grounds are rather splendid with lots to discover, including a maze and e slumbering giant. The hall is a magnificent building with stunning views of the city.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingdude1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrookHallGardens, Manager at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
I am delighted to hear you had a pleasant visit to the Hall and Gardens and enjoyed your Sparkling Afternoon Tea. Its lovely to hear the weather was behaving itself so your were able to enjoy it in the surroundings of the Gardens.

We have recently opened our Georgian Drawing Room as our official room to serve our gorgeous teas. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sparkling afternoon tea!!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I took some friends to visit this lovely place on Bank Holiday Monday. We booked the sparkling afternoon tea which was served in the Georgian Room and was absolutely delicious. For £20 we got entrance to the house and grounds, a glass of fizz, tea, a selection of sandwiches, cakes, chocolates and a delicious scone. The staff were friendly and helpful and the whole experience was delightful. It feels like you are way out in the countryside but you are actually only 5 minutes walk from the city centre. Perfect!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrookHallGardens, Manager at Crook Hall & Gardens, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to Crook Hall and Gardens in particular indulging in your Sparkling Afternoon Tea. The staff so look forward to serving and preparing them!

We really are a little corner of peace and tranquillity away from the hustle and bustle of the Durham City Centre but only a ten minute walk away. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crook Hall & Gardens also viewed

Durham, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Crook Hall & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing