We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and such easy access for the railway station and the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Garden House Inn
Ranked #14 of 40 Durham B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great base for exploring the city with comfortable rooms, good food and real ales. Breakfasts are excellent served in the conservatory and soya and gluten free breads available as option. Hotel is located on the outskirts of the central area and an easy 10 min walk into the city and to the railway station

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for The Garden House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 242 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We decided to stay here as we liked the look of it on their website. Read reviews on here with an open mind given you can't please everyone. We were not disappointed. Staff on arrival were friendly and extremely attentive. Our family room (no.5) was clean, stylish and far too comfortable. I have to have a window open to sleep, and again having read a fellow reviewers gripe about road noise, expected husband and son to maybe whinge.....not a thing. Peaceful. We had a late lunch in the bar which was so filling and oh my god the cut chips are just the best! Breakfast was continental, and they had everything you would want and more. Again, the staff were on hand to offer any assistance when needed. Thank you all for a lovely nights resting place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Last night my sisters and I went to The Garden House for a meal we had booked a table ,but on arrival were told the table had been given to someone else , we were ushered to a small table (not ideal for 3 people) . Then table 26 became vacant so we moved to that as it was larger, the food was good belly pork starter, line caught cod for main no complaints about either. However the seating is very uncomfortable after 2 hours our back and legs were aching so much we had to move to another area where the seats were a little more comfortable.
We told the young girl who seemed to be the only one doing all the running around and serving that we wanted Tea and a desert for one of my sisters we waited so long that she had to go to the bar and order it herself.
The place and the chef is let down by the service and the seating needs to be addressed. Amelia H

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank ameliaH931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Visited the Garden Inn for a meal last night with my sisters. Our table, which we booked earlier had been given to another party. Althought not extremely busy we waited a while to be served. The food was good as it was on our previous visit but the service was appalling. There was one female waitress who appeared to be the only person working and was obviously under pressure. One guy serving behind the bar who is definitely in the wrong job and has little customer service!! His party trick was to kick a tea towel from the floor of the bar, catch it and continue to serve on tables with it!! After waiting for not short of an hour for our main course dishes to be taken away we moved tables mainly to try and get comfortable as the chairs leave a lot to be desired and could easily give you a bout of sciatica from one visit.!! When I finally got the attention of the guy behind the bar, (which was a fete in its self) and asked to order coffees and dessert he said he would take a rain check on the dessert!!!! Unbelievable. He did bring the dessert but when he returned to clear the table he took the money first, not a good sign. What I believe to be the owner was clearing tables as we were leaving and asked about our night but when I mentioned the service he scurried away and I saw him no more. My thoughts are with the chef who did a sterling job whilst the rest of the team let him down quicker than the Titanic!, my advice to him would be to get your life jacket and make for the open seas!!!!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank GillianD628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good location, lovely spacious room, delicious food and great staff. Downside: Shower a little unpredictable - freezing or scalding. Windows could perhaps do with double glazing to block out some of the road noise but as it was a weekend stay the road wasn't too busy. Overall I would strongly recommend a stay here for visiting Durham/Beamish/Shildon etc.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N.Yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went with my wife stayed three nights.Rooms are clean and well presented, though a bit overpriced. Breakfast continental ok but i prefer cooked meal. Bar prices quite high. Had sunday dinner lovely.Blade of beef cooked until it melts in the mouth. Well priced just under £10 ph.All in all a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobcop_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I would avoid this restaurant at all costs. We waited over an hour for our meal consisting of two burgers and scampi, so nothing complicated. By the time it arrived we were starving and very disappointed. The hand cut chips were burnt and very greasy, the scampi soggy, the watercress had no dressing and the tartar sauce was missing. The burgers were tasteless and the bun soggy on the top with the same burnt, greasy chips. There was some enthusiasm about the red cabbage coleslaw though which seemed to go down well. I've got to say that the bar area is very well decorated and atmospheric with good background music and the staff pleasant enough so for a drink it's very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,117 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
2.0 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House Inn

Address: North Road, Durham DH1 4NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range: $104 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Garden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing